Season of Ash and Fire: Prayers and Liturgies for Lent and Easter (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Abingdon Press, Dec 1, 2010 - Education
0 Reviews

Season of Ash and Fire will help pastors and worship planners prepare for Lent and Easter. The author provides corporate prayers for each Sunday and Holy Day in the Easter Cycle, including: Ash Wednesday, 1st through 5th Sundays in Lent, Passion/Palm Sunday, Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Vigil, Easter Sunday Morning, Easter Evening, 2nd through 7th Sundays of Easter, Ascension Day, and Pentecost.

Additional prayers and liturgies for use during the season by small groups and families help extend and unify the congregationís celebration.

"Blair Meeks, gifted with an evangelical heart, an emancipated imagination, and a life settled in liturgy, offers a first rate resource as the church learns again to pray. Meeks not only guides the prayer of the church through the depth of Lent and the wonder of Easter, she also interprets and instructs along the way. Out of her long reflection on the mystery of worship, this book will serve pastors and all those in the church who live by faith that is funded through prayer.Ē --Walter Brueggemann, Professor Emeritus, Columbia Theological Seminary


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Dancing at Easter
The Sundays of Easter
Feasts and Holy Days
A Lenten Study of the Vigil Readings
Ascension of the Lord
Extending the Celebration
Additional Scripture Readings and Psalms for Easter

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Blair Gilmer Meeks is a frequent writer of worship-related resources and leads workshops on various aspects of worship. Her work with Abingdon Press includes contributing the worship services to the Abingdon Preaching Annual and Standing in the Circle of Grief. She is the author of four books.

Bibliographic information