Annie John: A Novel

Front Cover
Macmillan, Jun 30, 1997 - Fiction - 148 pages
7 Reviews
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: Annie John

User Review  - Lisa Nevin - Goodreads

Odd story didn't really seem to have a clear point it moved to, never explained why Anne and her mother drifted apart. Read it quickly but not memorable otherwise as I can't remember anything about it, only what I wrote in my book journal. Read full review

Review: Annie John (Paperback)

User Review  - Overstock.com

I thoguht this book was easy to relate too. Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Figures in the Distance
3
Gwen
34
The Red Girl
54
Columbus in Chains
72
Somewhere Belgium
85
The Long Rain
108
A Walk to the Jetty
130
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1997)

Jamaica Kincaid's books include At the Bottom of the River, Annie John, A Small Place, Lucy, The Autobiography of My Mother, My Brother, and, most recently, Mr. Potter. She lives in Vermont.

Bibliographic information