Ordeal of the Union, Volume 1

Front Cover
Collier Books, 1992 - History - 1072 pages
2 Reviews

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Ordeal of the Union, Vol 2: The Emergence of Lincoln: Douglas, Buchanan & Party Chaos, 1857-59/Prologue to Civil War, 1859-61

User Review  - Larry E - Goodreads

Very detailed description of events and probable causes. Read full review

Review: Ordeal of the Union: Fruits of Manifest Destiny 1847-52/A House Dividing 1852-57

User Review  - Avis Black - Goodreads

The four volumes in the Ordeal of the Union series make up the classic study of how and why the Civil War came. No one has done a better overview than this. Nevins has written a further four volumes ... Read full review

About the author (1992)

Allan Nevins, 1890 - 1971 Educator, historian and biographer Allan Nevins was born in Camp Point, Illinois. He was educated at the University of Illinois. From 1913-1931, he was on the editorial staff of various newspapers and periodicals in New York City. From 1931 until his retirement in 1958, he was the professor of American history at Columbia University. He died in Menlo Park, California, in 1971. His historical and biographical writings were thoroughly researched and two of his books, "Grover Cleveland" (1932) and "Hamilton Fish" (1936), won Pulitzer Prizes. Other titles include "The Ordeal of the Union" (8 vol. 1947-1971) and "The Emergence of Lincoln" (2 vol. 1950). He also edited letters and diaries, which included "The Diary of John Quincy Adams" (1928).

Bibliographic information