Cloud Atlas: A Novel (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Dec 10, 2008 - Fiction - 528 pages
2238 Reviews
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize | Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas
 
“[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers
 
“Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”People
 
“The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon
 
Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”The Washington Post Book World
 
“Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”Boston Sunday Globe
 
“Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”Los Angeles Times


From the Trade Paperback edition.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
999
4 stars
684
3 stars
359
2 stars
146
1 star
50

Amazing book, so many layers and great imagery. - LibraryThing
David Mitchell is an amazing writer. - LibraryThing
I loved the action scenes. - LibraryThing
With that said, though, Mitchell's prose is gorgeous. - LibraryThing
Some of us liked the language and writing of this book. - LibraryThing
I will need to do further research into its analysis. - LibraryThing

Review: Cloud Atlas

User Review  - Daniel - Goodreads

Oh, man, where do I begin? This book is amazing. Easily in my top ten all time favorites, a strong contender for top five. I don't want to spoil for anyone the experience of reading this book, so I ... Read full review

Review: Cloud Atlas

User Review  - Damir - Goodreads

just GREAT !!!! Read full review

All 173 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
3
Section 3
22
Section 4
41
Section 5
58
Section 6
65
Section 7
72
Section 8
82
Section 16
238
Section 17
313
Section 18
350
Section 19
391
Section 20
430
Section 21
437
Section 22
443
Section 23
470

Section 9
88
Section 10
102
Section 11
109
Section 12
111
Section 13
128
Section 14
144
Section 15
183
Section 24
500
Section 25
502
Section 26
510
Section 27
511
Section 28
512
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir The Reason I Jump. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information