Little America

Front Cover
Vintage, 2002 - Fiction - 416 pages
9 Reviews
In this suspenseful and atmospheric spy novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carr, Henry Bromell unfolds a labyrinthine tale of intrigue and moral ambiguity.

In 1958, at the height of the Cold War, CIA agent Mack Hooper arrived in the tiny middle-eastern kingdom of Kurash with a mission to befriend and protect its inexperienced young ruler. Now, forty years later, the country no longer exists and Mackís son Terry is trying to piece together his fatherís story. Was he a friend to the young king, or a diplomat-seducer sent to betray him? And what happened to the lost kingdom? Moving deftly between the feudal world of Kurash and the martini-washed enclaves of the American spies, Little America is a riveting and unexpectedly moving tale of honor and betrayal as well as a brilliant evocation of espionage in the darkest days of the Cold War.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: Little America

User Review  - Robert Pater - Goodreads

It's been a while since I read this but just heard on the Emmy awards that Henry Bromell, who just won an award for screenplay writing, had passed away earlier this year. I remember this as a page ... Read full review

Review: Little America

User Review  - Doug Gillan - Goodreads

Great spy novel in the Graham Greene/leCarre/Robert Littel mold. Too bad he left novel writing for TV writing and show running. Then, last year he died. Still, he left an impressive body of work across several different media. Rest in Peace and thanks. Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
10
Section 3
23
Copyright

33 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

He is currently a writer and consulting producer for the Showtime series Homeland.

Bibliographic information