Little America

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2002 - Fiction - 416 pages
12 Reviews
In this suspenseful and atmospheric spy novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carr, Henry Bromell unfolds a labyrinthine tale of intrigue and moral ambiguity. In 1958, at the height of the Cold War, CIA agent Mack Hooper arrived in the tiny middle-eastern kingdom of Kurash with a mission to befriend and protect its inexperienced young ruler. Now, forty years later, the country no longer exists and Mack's son Terry is trying to piece together his father's story. Was he a friend to the young king, or a diplomat-seducer sent to betray him? And what happened to the lost kingdom? Moving deftly between the feudal world of Kurash and the martini-washed enclaves of the American spies, Little America is a riveting and unexpectedly moving tale of honor and betrayal as well as a brilliant evocation of espionage in the darkest days of the Cold War. From the Trade Paperback edition.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: Little America

User Review  - Robert Pater - Goodreads

It's been a while since I read this but just heard on the Emmy awards that Henry Bromell, who just won an award for screenplay writing, had passed away earlier this year. I remember this as a page ... Read full review

Review: Little America

User Review  - Lindaellen - Goodreads

It did not really take me a month to read this book - I read a book club book and some other stuff at the same time (something I don't usually do). For its genre, I thought Little America was very ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
10
Section 3
23
Copyright

33 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

He is currently a writer and consulting producer for the Showtime series "Homeland.

Bibliographic information