The Arms of God

Front Cover
Center Point Pub., 2006 - Fiction - 254 pages
48 Reviews
"An anthem to friendship – that indefinable binding of one to another that lets us survive loss, illness, fear and even death. To miss it is to deprive yourself of a small treasure." – Jacqueline Mitchard.

Alice is making her daughter dinner when her mother Olivia, who left her at a day care center when she was four years old, appears at her door. Alice has has never really recovered from her mother's abandonment and sees her homecoming as gift. Three weeks later, Olivia dies, and Alice still knows nothing about her mother's secret life – but she's about to find out. In Olivia’s apartment, Alice finds a scrapbook that holds clues to Olivia's North Carolina childhood. Daughter of a loose, self-destructive woman, Olivia finds refuge in the home of the black children next door and their kind mother. But in that time and place, black and white didn't mix, and there would be grave consequences. Now the mystery of Olivia's disturbing past is slowly uncovered and Alice begins to understand how the power of hatred can hold a woman down – and how the power of friendship can lift her up again.

The Arms of God is the richest and most intimate book Lynne Hinton has ever written, surpassing even her popular Hope Springs trilogy.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Arms of God

User Review  - Grace Phelps - Goodreads

What an interesting portrayal of the depravity of man, and how, unless we have Jesus, it continues generation to generation. It deals with emotional scars left by abject poverty, abusive parents ... Read full review

Review: The Arms of God

User Review  - Angela M - Goodreads

I found this book to be depressing. I kept waiting for one character to break out and be the uplifting part of the story. It ended abruptly as well, I thought there would be more resolution and ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

12 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Lynne Hinton is from North Carolina. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and her Masters of Divinity degree from Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, California. She also studied at Wake Forest University and the NC School of the Arts, School of Filmmaking. While in seminary, Lynne began considering writing and enrolled in literature classes. She is the author of several books, including a nonfiction piece, MEDITATIONS FOR WALKING, and the Hope Springs Trilogy with FRIENDSHIP CAKE, CHRISTMAS CAKE AND WEDDING CAKE. Lynne also has a mystery series with St. Martin's, written under the name, Jackie Lynn which includes DOWN BY THE RIVERSIDE, JACOB'S LADDER, and SWING LOW, SWEET CHARIOT. Lynne is a regular columnist with The Charlotte Observer and she has served as a chaplain with hospice and as the pastor of Mount Hope United Church of Christ and First Congregational United Church of Christ, both in North Carolina. Lynne and her husband, Bob Branard, presently live near Spokane, Washington where Lynne is an interim pastor at the Chewelah United Church of Christ.

Bibliographic information