Anew: Complete Shorter Poetry

Front Cover
New Directions Publishing, Dec 21, 2010 - Poetry - 365 pages
4 Reviews
     Anew, sun, to fire summer
     leaves move toward the air
     from the stems of the branches

           fire summer fire summer
                  —from Anew

Here is the complete music-filled arc of Louis Zukofsky’s shorter verse collectedin one volume: lyrical love poems written to his wife Celia and son Paul; thegroundbreaking “Poem Beginning ‘The,’ ” “which sends up ‘The Waste Land’ andits cultural vision in a cloud of bricolage, a hilarious pastiche of quotes, canon andkitsch, high and low hopelessly intertwined” (Michael Palmer); the boisterous,riotous translations of Catullus; spare, brilliant nature poems as if written by anancient hokku master; his genius “ ‘Mantis’ ” sestina; the enigmatic, spiraling, andbeautiful last poems, “80 Flowers.” Anew: Complete Shorter Poetry is a book ofblessings and gifts for any poetry lover.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Complete Short Poetry

User Review  - Ruth - Goodreads

While I may prefer "A", I have read the Complete Shorter Poetry with greater frequency -- there's something joyous in the various musics at work here. Zukofsky's intellect is exceptional -- and some ... Read full review

Review: Complete Short Poetry

User Review  - Humphrey - Goodreads

Zukofsky is the BEST! Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Louis Zukofsky first achieved a reputation in the literary world during the 1920s, when Ezra Pound published his work in Exile. Later he became editor of Poetry, in which, in 1931, he actively promoted the as yet relatively unknown William Carlos Williams and Kenneth Rexroth, among others. Zukofsky was born in New York City and received both his A.B. and M.A. degrees from Columbia University and taught for two years at the Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute. Zukofsky's poetry is notoriously difficult, although it continues to generate its defenders and a small but gallant group of explainers.

Robert Creeley was born in Arlington, Massachusetts, on May 21, 1926. He attended Harvard University and served in the American Field Service in India and Burma during World War II. In 1960, he received a Master's Degree from the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque. He taught at Black Mountain College, an experimental arts college in North Carolina, and was the editor of the Black Mountain Review. During his lifetime, he published more than sixty books of poetry including For Love: Poems 1950-1960, The Finger, Later, Mirrors, Memory Gardens, Echoes, Life and Death, and If I Were Writing This. In 1960, he won the Levinson Prize for a group of 10 poems published in Black Mountain Review. He also won the Shelley Memorial Award in 1981, the Frost Medal in 1987, and the Lannan Lifetime Achievement Award. He served as New York State Poet Laureate from 1989 to 1991. He also wrote the novel The Island and a collection of short stories entitled The Gold Diggers. He edited several books including Charles Olson's Selected Poems, The Essential Burns, and Whitman: Selected Poems. He taught English at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque and at the State University of New York at Buffalo. He died on March 30, 2005 at the age of 78.

Bibliographic information