The End of the Wasp Season: A Novel (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Little, Brown, Sep 26, 2011 - Fiction - 400 pages
16 Reviews
When a notorious millionaire banker hangs himself, his death attracts no sympathy. But the legacy of a lifetime of selfishness is widespread, and the carnage most acute among those he ought to be protecting: his family.

Meanwhile, in a wealthy suburb of Glasgow, a young woman is found savagely murdered. The community is stunned by what appears to be a vicious, random attack. When Detective Inspector Alex Morrow, heavily pregnant with twins, is called in to investigate, she soon discovers that a tangled web of lies lurks behind the murder. It's a web that will spiral through Alex's own home, the local community, and ultimately right back to a swinging rope, hundreds of miles away.

THE END OF THE WASP SEASON is an accomplished, compelling and multi-layered novel about family's power of damage-and redemption.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Strong police procedural set in contemporary Glasgow. - Goodreads
It's got a much better plot than the previous text. - Goodreads
Nor does she sacrifice realism to advance her plot. - Goodreads

Review: The End of the Wasp Season (Alex Morrow #2)

User Review  - Carly Thompson - Goodreads

3.5 Stars. Strong police procedural set in contemporary Glasgow. Alex Morrow, pregnant with twins, investigates the brutal murder of a young woman in a wealthy suburb. The criminals are known from the ... Read full review

Review: The End of the Wasp Season (Alex Morrow #2)

User Review  - Stacey Franklin - Goodreads

3.5 I've read worse and I've read better. Decent writing and characters but few I cared much about. Interesting plot twist at the end that made me think, but other plot developments I saw a mile away ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Denise Mina is the author of Still Midnight, Slip of the Knife, The Dead Hour, Field of Blood, Deception, and the Garnethill trilogy, the first installment of which won her the John Creasey Memorial Prize for best first crime novel. She lives in Glasgow.

Bibliographic information