Econoclasts: The Rebels who Sparked the Supply-side Revolution and Restored American Prosperity

Front Cover
ISI Books, 2009 - Business & Economics - 358 pages
4 Reviews
Many Americans struggling to come to grips with the economic crisis have compared the current situation to the Great Depression of the 1930s. Strangely, they have not thought to make a comparison closer in time: to the ruinous 'stagflation' of the late 1970s. But now, in the riveting and genuinely groundbreaking book Econoclasts, historian Brian Domitrovic reminds us that the greatest and most consequential of the twentieth century's economic counterrevolutions emerged in response to the 1970s crisis: supply-side economics. In a pulsing narrative, Domitrovic tells the incredible story of the economists, intellectuals, journalists, and policy wonks who showed America how to get out of the 1970s funk and who ushered in an unprecedented quarter-century run of growth and expansive entrepreneurial opportunity. Based on the author's years of archival research, Econoclasts explodes numerous myths about supply-side economics, which flew in the face of the dominant economic thinking of the time and is frequently disparaged even today. Supply-side economics succeeded, Domitrovic shows, because it restrained the two great means of governmental intervention in the economy, the income tax and the Federal Reserve. Econoclasts is a masterful narrative history in the tradition of Amity Shlaes' The Forgotten Man and John Steele Gordon's An Empire of Wealth. It is also impeccably timely: this is a story we must know if we are to understand the foundation of America's prosperity - a foundation that is now under increasing attack.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Econoclasts: The Rebels Who Sparked the Supply-Side Revolution and Restored American Prosperity

User Review  - Ray Keating - Goodreads

Excellent history and economics. Read full review

Review: Econoclasts: The Rebels Who Sparked the Supply-Side Revolution and Restored American Prosperity

User Review  - Goodreads

Excellent history and economics. Read full review

Contents

That70s Funk
1
Bitter Fruits
77
Michael 1
103
Copyright

9 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Brian Domitrovic holds a Ph.D. in history from Harvard University, where he also did graduate work in economics. He earned his bachelorís degree at Columbia University, studying history and mathematics. Professor Domitrovic teaches at Sam Houston State University and has written for numerous scholarly and popular publications. He lives with his wife and three daughters in Texas.

Bibliographic information