Invisible People

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, Nov 27, 2007 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 115 pages
7 Reviews

One of four extraordinary graphic novels celebrating the Big Apple, from the master of American comics art.A haunting trio of stories about life's forgotten shut-ins in the tradition of Kafka, Gogol, and Melville.

 

Born in New York in 1917, Will Eisner was the author of the legendary comic strip The Spirit. His fifteen graphic novels; his posthumous history, The Plot; and the newest compilation Life, in Pictures, form the Will Eisner Library. The comic industry's top annual awards, The Eisners, are named in his honor.

  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: Invisible People (The New York Tetralogy #4)

User Review  - Betty - Goodreads

Excellent insight into people. I think I'll look up another one of his books. Read full review

Review: Invisible People (The New York Tetralogy #4)

User Review  - Emilia P - Goodreads

Not Eisner's very best but neither was it his worst. As others reviewers say -- the plot-movers were somewhat implausible and the story-lines were not the best. At the same time, it still drew me in ... Read full review

Contents

Sanctum
3
The Power 3 7
37
Mortal Combat
79
Requiem
113
Copyright

About the author (2007)

Will Eisner was born March 6, 1917 in Brooklyn, NY. As a child he worked for printers and sold newspapers. He attended De Witt Clinton High School in the Bronx, where his artwork first appeared in the school newspaper. His first job was at the New York American, but he lost that and found a job with WOW What a Magazine! in 1936. He created two features for the magazine, Harry Karry and The Flame. After the magazine went under, for a short time, he freelanced and drew stories for Comic Magazines before he and friend Jerry Iger formed a the Eisner-Iger studio. The two went their separate ways when Eisner joined the Quality Comics Group to produce a syndicated 16-page newspaper supplement. It was there that Eisner created his most well known character, the Spirit. In 1942, Eisner was drafted into the army where he produced posters and strips for the troops. After the war, he continued the Spirit strip until 1952. It was during this time that he created the American Visuals Corporation, a commercial art company that created comics for educational and commercial purposes. Some of the company's clients included RCA Records, the Baltimore Colts, and New York Telephone. Eisner had given up on the Spirit strip, but still produced new material for it from time to time. He chose to focus his efforts on a more mature storyline and so produced A Contract With God, which was published in 1978. It was the beginnings of the graphic novel. Eisner also taught cartooning at the School of Visual Arts in New York, in addition to writing Comics and Sequential Art and Graphic Storytelling. The Eisner Awards, one of only two comics industry awards, are named for Eisner and were established in 1988. Eisner's work was showcased in the Whitney Museum's 1996 "NYNY: City of Ambition" show. Will Eisner passed away on Monday January 3, 2005 at the age of 87 after undergoing quadruple bypass heart surgery.

Bibliographic information