The Joy Luck Club

Front Cover
Penguin, 2006 - Fiction - 288 pages
61 Reviews

For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, The Valley of Amazement, revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters

Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue.

With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
17
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7

Review: The Joy Luck Club

User Review  - Alena Vacková - Goodreads

Interesting and moving - I had watery eyes during the last chapter. Read full review

Review: The Joy Luck Club

User Review  - Goodreads

Interesting and moving - I had watery eyes during the last chapter. Read full review

All 24 reviews »

Contents

The Joy Luck Club
19
Scar
42
The Red Candle
49
The Moon Lady
67
THE TWENTYSIX MALIGNANT GATES
85
Rules of the Game
89
The Voice from the Wall
102
Half and Half
116
Rice Husband
149
Four Directions
166
Without Wood
185
Best Quality
197
QUEEN MOTHER OF THE WESTERN SKIES
211
Magpies
215
Waiting Between the Trees
242
Double Face
253

Two Kinds
132
AMERICAN TRANSLATION
145
A Pair of Tickets
267
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2006)

Amy Tan is the author of The Joy Luck Club, The Kitchen God's Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses, The Bonesetter's Daughter, The Opposite of Fate, Saving Fish from Drowning, and two children's books, The Moon Lady and The Chinese Siamese Cat, which has been adapted as Sagwa, a PBS series for children. Tan was also the co-producer and co-screenwriter of the film version of The Joy Luck Club, and her essays and stories have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies. Her work has been translated into more than twenty-five languages. Tan, who has a master's degree in linguistics from San Jose University, has worked as a language specialist to programs serving children with developmental disabilities. She lives with her husband in San Francisco and New York.

Bibliographic information