Island Justice

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, May 1, 1999 - Fiction - 356 pages
11 Reviews
In this compelling, evocative novel set on a small island off the New England coast, Elizabeth Winthrop subtly examines our notions of home.

For Maggie Hammond, home means her beloved godmother, so when Nan dies, the Victorian house she inhabited becomes merely a possession for Maggie to shed. Bur when she meets Sam, the island naturalist, and a dead body rolls up on her beach, she finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into the complex world of the island's winter community.

For Anna Craven, married to an abusive bully, home is fraught with danger and shrouded in secrets. As Anna grows closer to Dennis Lacey, the newly arrived island doctor, gossip flies and the domestic problems long hidden behind closed doors erupt into violence. The tightly knit group of year-rounders are forced to examine the erosive undertow of secrecy that threatens to destroy the island community they call home.

A beautifully observed novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Alice Hoffman, "Island Justice" sets Maggie's struggle to trust the pulls of her heart against the backdrop of a community intent on pursuing its own unique brand of justice.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: Island Justice

User Review  - LCPL Lake County (IN) Public Library - Goodreads

Island Justice is an interesting study of people who live in close connection with their neighbors. It is also an independent woman's struggle to trust her heart against the backdrop of a community ... Read full review

Review: Island Justice

User Review  - Kathy - Goodreads

I picked this up randomly at the library. I enjoyed it. I suspect it's what people call a good summer read. I cared about the characters and enjoyed the plot. Somewhat predictable at times. Not great literature, but again, a good story. Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
17
Section 3
27
Copyright

23 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Author Elizabeth Winthrop grew up in Washington, D. C., and has written over 50 works of fiction for all ages. She has won numerous awards including the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, the Pen Syndicated Fiction Award, the California Young Readers Medal and the Jane Addams Peace Prize Honor Book. Many of her children's books are based on her childhood memories and the experiences of her children and other children she has talked to. Her book Belinda's Hurricane is based on the time she lived through a hurricane with her grandmother on an island off the coast of Connecticut. I Think He Likes Me is based on her daughter's reaction to her younger brother when he was brought home from the hospital. Her most popular books are The Castle in the Attic and The Battle for the Castle.

Bibliographic information