Ambrose Bierce and the one-eyed Jacks

Front Cover
Viking, Jan 31, 2003 - Fiction - 216 pages
4 Reviews
Ambrose G. ("Almighty God") Bierce, San Francisco's legendary newspaperman and sometime-sleuth, is hardly surprised to be consulted by William Randolph Hearst when the latter's mistress finds herself photographically compromised. But in the rough 1890s Bay Area streets, Hearst's isn't the only case on the boil. Bierce and his sidekick Tom Redmond follow a trail of murder that leads from a sinister British yachtsman to a photographer of female flesh, via the beauty queen of the Portuguese Pentecostal festival; white slavers; a slave ship and the Chinese girls who have been imported on it; tong hit men; Dionysian revels; and a shocking photography ring. Bierce's unraveling of it all sheds a blinding light on parental guilt and fin-de-siécle morality. The third in Hall's Ambrose Bierce series, this is a must-have for fans of Caleb Carr's The Alienist, E. L. Doctorow's The Waterworks, and all historical adventures.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dougwood57 - LibraryThing

Oakley Hall is better known for more literary works like Warlock, but his series of historical mysteries featuring Ambrose Bierce should not be missed. If you do not know about Ambrose Bierce, then ... Read full review

Review: Ambrose Bierce and the One-Eyed Jacks (Ambrose Bierce #3)

User Review  - Nan - Goodreads

Hall's a good writer, but this book is not his best. I love the setting (San Francisco in the 1890s), the characters (Ambrose Bierce, William Hearst, Winifred Bonfils), and the plot (scandalous ... Read full review

Related books

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
15
Section 3
33
Copyright

20 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information