The captive mind

Front Cover
Vintage International, 1981 - Fiction - 251 pages
18 Reviews
The best known prose work by the winner of the 1980 Nobel Prize for Literature examines the moral and intellectual conflicts faced by men and women living under totalitarianism of the left or right.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

I enjoyed the writing in this book immensely. - Goodreads
How socialist realism commits the writer to Communism. - Goodreads
However, his English writing is fantastic. - Goodreads
User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This is a book that was written in 1953 that reminds us how important it is to retain and cherish our intellectual freedom. Milosov, in this book which is not always easy to read but is worthwhile persevering, points out that it is too easy to lose our intellectual independence and become slaves to a set of ideas like Stalinism. While not suggesting thankfully that we are living in anything like a Stalinist regime in modern Scotland this is an excellent book to help you appreciate just how easy it is to conform to the latest educational/political consensus without putting too much thought into the issue yourself. 

Review: The Captive Mind

User Review  - Nemanja Sh - Goodreads

Fascinating read. Not only does that author vividly portray the suffering of the Polish nation but he also adds a personal touch to his writing. I think this is very important as without it the book ... Read full review


The Pill of MurtiBing
Looking to the West

6 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1981)

Czeslaw Milosz was born in 1911 in Szetejnie, Lithuania. He survived World War II in Warsaw, publishing in the underground press, after which he was stationed in New York, Washington, and Paris as a cultural attachE from Poland. He defected to France in 1951, and in 1960 he accepted a position at the University of California at Berkeley. Although his writing was banned in Poland, he was nevertheless awarded the 1980 Nobel Prize for Literature. He died in 2004 in KrakOw.