Front Cover
Atlantic Books, Limited, Sep 1, 2009 - Intellectuals - 981 pages
3 Reviews
Erasmas, 'Raz', is a young avout living in the Concent, a sanctuary for mathematicians, scientists, and philosophers. Three times during history's darkest epochs, violence has invaded and devastated the cloistered community. Yet the avout have always managed to adapt in the wake of catastrophe.
But they now prepare to open the Concent's gates to the outside world, in celebration of a once-a-decade rite. Suddenly, Erasmas finds himself a major player in a drama that will determine the future of his world – as he sets out on an extraordinary odyssey that will carry him to the most dangerous, inhospitable corners of the planet…and beyond.

What people are saying - Write a review

Plato would have felt right at home.

User Review  - Denzil Pugh - Borders

Book Review: Anathem, by Neal Stephenson. A tome of a novel that took me forever to read, but I thouroughly enjoyed it. Born of the same ideas that made science-fiction the highly profitable, and ... Read full review

Stephenson Conquers Again

User Review  - marytills - Borders

Anathem, like all Stephenson's novels, is too grand in scope to be corralled into one genre. His writing is so inventive and unparalleled that to categorize him is to diminish his accomplishments ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

About the author (2009)

Neal Stephenson, the science fiction author, was born on October 31, 1959 in Maryland. He graduated from Boston University in 1981 with a B.A. in Geography with a minor in physics. His first novel, The Big U, was published in 1984. It received little attention and stayed out of print until Stephenson allowed it to be reprinted in 2001. His second novel was Zodiac: The Eco-Thriller was published in 1988, but it was his novel Snow Crash (1992) that brought him popularity. It fused memetics, computer viruses, and other high-tech themes with Sumerian mythology. Neal Stephenson has won several awards: Hugo for Best Novel for The Diamond Age (1996), the Arthur C. Clark for Best Novel for Quicksilver (2004), and the Prometheus Award for Best Novel for The System of the World (2005). He recently completed the The Baroque Cycle Trilogy, a series of historical novels. It consists of eight books and was originally published in three volumes and Reamde. He currently resides in Seattle, Washington. Stephenson also writes under the pseudonym Stephen Bury.

Bibliographic information