What We Talk about when We Talk about Love: Stories

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1989 - Fiction - 159 pages
607 Reviews
In his second collection of stories, as in his first, Carver's characters are peripheral people--people without education, insight or prospects, people too unimaginative to even give up. Carver celebrates these men and women.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
283
4 stars
211
3 stars
82
2 stars
22
1 star
9

Love me a manly writer - Goodreads
You can't call Carver's writing beautiful. - Goodreads
Carver's prose is familiar and frightening immediately. - Goodreads
None of the stories seem to have a happy ending. - Goodreads
Carver is one of themasters of short story telling. - Goodreads
Stripped-down prose. - Goodreads

Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love

User Review  - Trevor Pardon - Goodreads

i don't know why I like this, but I do. Read full review

Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love

User Review  - Raechel Toring - Goodreads

I have never made the shift from loving someone to then hating them. Maybe that is because I leave, or it ends, or whatever. These characters sure stick with it even long after love has faded. Their ... Read full review

Contents

WHY DONT YOU DANCE?
3
VIEWFINDER
11
MR COFFEE AND MR FIXIT
17
Copyright

5 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1989)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information