Past Imperfect (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Macmillan, Sep 1, 2009 - Fiction - 416 pages
23 Reviews
From the creator of the Emmy Award-winning Downton Abbey... “Damian Baxter was a friend of mine at Cambridge. We met around the time when I was doing the Season at the end of the Sixties. I introduced him to some of the girls. They took him up, and we ran about together in London for a while….”

Nearly forty years later, the narrator hates Damian Baxter and would gladly forget their disastrous last encounter. But if it is pleasant to hear from an old friend, it is more interesting to hear from an old enemy, and so he accepts an invitation from the rich and dying Damian, who begs him to track down the past girlfriend whose anonymous letter claimed he had fathered a child during that ruinous debutante season.

The search takes the narrator back to the extraordinary world of swinging London, where aristocratic parents schemed to find suitable matches for their daughters while someone was putting hash in the brownies at a ball at Madame Tussaud’s. It was a time when everything seemed to be changing—and it was, but not always quite as expected.


  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
0

Review: Past Imperfect

User Review  - Suzanne Perkins - Goodreads

Very long winded and repetitive. We aristocrats of the late 1960 saw things were changing but we didn't really appreciate it. We now know that things changed so much from that period to now but at the ... Read full review

Review: Past Imperfect

User Review  - Sylvia - Goodreads

If I could I'd give 4.5 stars. I liked it! For fans of Downton Abbey, I think you will like this even though you will have to move forward in time to the 1960s. England is beginning to prosper again ... Read full review

Contents

Body
3
Back Flap
415
Back Cover
416
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Julian Fellowes is the Emmy Award-winning writer and creator of Downton Abbey and the winner of the 2001 Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for Gosford Park. He also wrote the screenplays for Vanity Fair and The Young Victoria. He is the bestselling author of Snobs and Past Imperfect. His other works include The Curious Adventure of the Abandoned Toys and the book for the Disney stage musical of Mary Poppins. As an actor, his roles include Lord Kilwillie in the BBC Television series Monarch of Glen and the 2nd Duke of Richmond in Aristocrats, as well as appearances in the films Shadowlands, Damage, and Tomorrow Never Dies. He lives in London and Dorset, England.

Bibliographic information