The Sirian experiments: the report by Ambien II, of the five

Front Cover
Vintage Books, Feb 1, 1982 - Fiction - 288 pages
8 Reviews
The third volume of Lessing's visionary series is the first-person account of Ambien II, a female ruler of the Sirian empire who slowly realizes how sophisticated the Canopus empire is and attempts to effect a similar society

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Sirian Experiments (Canopus in Argos #3)

User Review  - Judy Ross - Goodreads

spectacular book. lessing has an amazing way of thinking, and reading this book is like listening to her think. it's fiction, it's a memoir, its about space, but it is not in any conventional sense a ... Read full review

Review: The Sirian Experiments (Canopus in Argos #3)

User Review  - Frank Mcgeough - Goodreads

Boring, obtuse, endlessly parenthetical. An awful book that also feels very full of itself. Best avoided. Read full review

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1982)

Born in Kermanshah, Persia (later Iran) on October 22, 1919, Doris Lessing grew up in Rhodesia (the present-day Zimbabwe). Her father was an amputee due to injuries received in World War I and, and her mother had treated his war injuries. As a child, Lessing explored the rural Rhodesian landscape, occasionally hunting small animals. While working as an au pair and a telephone operator in Salisbury, Rhodesia, Lessing read such authors as Chekhov and Tolstoy, refined her writing skills, and married twice. During her two marriages, she submitted short fiction and poetry for publication and, after moving to London in 1949 with her son, Peter, Lessing published her first novel, The Grass is Singing, in 1950. This work treated apartheid/racial issues that existed in Rhodesia at that time. She would go on to explore the individual's--women's in particular--relationship to society in many types of experimental fiction thereafter. Lessing has published many solid short-story collections but is perhaps best known for her 1954 Somerset Maugham Award-winning experimental novel The Golden Notebook. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 2001 Prince of Asturias Prize in Literature, the David Cohen British Literature Prize, and the 2007 Nobel Prize for Literature. Lessing has also had a lifelong interest in such topics as Marxism, telepathy, and social psychology.

Bibliographic information