When the Bough Breaks (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Jul 6, 2010 - Fiction - 448 pages
32 Reviews
In the first Alex Delaware novel, Dr.  Morton Handler practiced a strange brand of psychiatry.  Among his specialties were fraud, extortion, and  sexual manipulation. Handler paid for his sins when  he was brutally murdered in his luxurious Pacific  Palisades apartment. The police have no leads, but  they do have one possible witness: seven-year-old  Melody Quinn.

It's psychologist Dr. Alex  Delaware's job to try to unlock the terrible secret  buried in Melody's memory. But as the sinister  shadows in the girl's mind begin to take shape, Alex  discovers that the mystery touches a shocking  incident in his own past.

This connection is  only the beginning, a single link in a  forty-year-old conspiracy. And behind it lies an unspeakable  evil that Alex Delaware must expose before it  claims another innocent victim: Melody Quinn.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: When the Bough Breaks (Alex Delaware #1)

User Review  - Mukta Mohapatra - Goodreads

I picked up this book because I read similar authors. This is my first Kellerman/Delaware book and I wasn't aware that the Delaware series was as long as the Lucas Davenport series by Sandford. I ... Read full review

Review: When the Bough Breaks (Alex Delaware #1)

User Review  - Amanda Sailors - Goodreads

The first book in a long going series, When the Bough Breaks introduces Jonathan Kellerman's child psychologist protagonist Alex Delaware. After a traumatic and high profile case involving abused ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Jonathan Kellerman is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty bestselling crime novels, including the Alex Delaware series, The Butcher’s Theater, Billy Straight, The Conspiracy Club, Twisted, and True Detectives. With his wife, bestselling novelist Faye Kellerman, he co-authored Double Homicide and Capital Crimes. He is also the author of two children’s books and numerous nonfiction works, including Savage Spawn: Reflections on Violent Children and With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars. He has won the Goldwyn, Edgar, and Anthony awards and has been nominated for a Shamus Award. Jonathan and Faye Kellerman live in California, New Mexico, and New York.

Bibliographic information