Foe, Volume 1986, Part 2

Front Cover
Secker & Warburg, 1986 - Fiction - 157 pages
36 Reviews
With the same electrical intensity of language and insight that he brought to Waiting for the Barbarians and The Master of Petersburg, J.M. Coetzee reinvents the story of Robinson Crusoe-and in so doing, directs our attention to the seduction and tyranny of storytelling itself In 1720 the eminent man of letters Daniel Foe is approached by Susan Barton, lately a castaway on a desert island. She wants him to tell her story, and that of the enigmatic man who has become her rescuer, companion, master and sometimes lover: Cruso. Cruso is dead, and his manservant, Friday, is incapable of speech. As she tries to relate the truth about him, the ambitious Barton cannot help turning Cruso into her invention. For as narrated by Foe-as by Coetzee himself-the stories we thought we knew acquire depths that are at once treacherous, elegant, and unexpectedly moving.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

The beautifully written ending is too enigmatic. - Goodreads
Many plot points were introduced but never answered. - Goodreads
The tale is well told, but has a peculiar ending. - Goodreads

Review: Foe

User Review  - Victor Gibson - Goodreads

I had read this book some years ago and felt that I must have added a critique on Goodreads, but I was surprised to find that I had not been adding my words to this site for as long as I thought I had ... Read full review

Review: Foe

User Review  - Blair - Goodreads

I don't think this is quite Coetzee's best book (I'd probably say Waiting for the Barbarians for that), but it's a stunningly good reimagining of the story of Robinson Crusoe through the eyes of a ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

4 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1986)

J.M. Coetzee's full name is John Michael Coetzee. Born in Cape Town, South Africa, in 1940, Coetzee is a writer and critic who uses the political situation in his homeland as a backdrop for many of his novels. Coetzee published his first work of fiction, Dusklands, in 1974. Another book, Boyhood, loosely chronicles an unhappy time in Coetzee's childhood when his family moved from Cape Town to the more remote and unenlightened city of Worcester. Other Coetzee novels are In the Heart of the Country and Waiting for the Barbarians. Coetzee's critical works include White Writing and Giving Offense: Essays on Censorship. Coetzee is a two-time recipient of the Booker Prize and in 2003, he won the Nobel Literature Award.

Bibliographic information