The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Front Cover
Yearling, Mar 1, 2007 - Juvenile Fiction - 262 pages
67 Reviews
A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundelís sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundelís owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they willówonít they? One thingís for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.


From the Hardcover edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PamelaBarrett - LibraryThing

Author, Jeanne Birdsall has written a book that brought back memories of all the books I read as a child, and she reminded me of why I love to read today. During the days I read about the Penderwicks ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JenWinans - LibraryThing

The Penderwicks was a difficult book for me to get started on. It had a bit of a slow start. But once past the first few chapters I was sucked in. I couldn't wait to hear about more misadventures by ... Read full review

About the author (2007)

When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband.†

Bibliographic information