The Power of the Parasite

Front Cover
Random House, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 91 pages
21 Reviews
Introducing Squish--a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady.

School's out! Everyone's favorite amoeba is headed to summer camp! But instead of SUPER AWESOME FUN, Squish's summer is turning out to be SUPER AWESOME TERRIFYING! For one thing, Squish can't swim. And to make matters worse, his new camp friend is a Hydra (scientific fact: A hydra's tentacles can paralyze you!). Will Squish sink or will he swim this summer? (And what's up with Pod and black holes anyways??) Find out the answers to these questions and more in the super spectacular adventure, Squish #4: The Power of the Parasite. Summer reading has never been so slimey!

Yowza! You can draw comics, too! Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters! Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home! Shazam!

Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba!

New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:
* "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: The Power of the Parasite (Squish #3)

User Review  - Chelsea - Goodreads

“Squish-The Power of the Parasite” by Jennifer Holm and Matthew Holm is a children's graphic novel that tells the story of Squish- an amoeba- who is reluctant in attending summer camp where he is to ... Read full review

Review: The Power of the Parasite (Squish #3)

User Review  - Liz - Goodreads

School is out for the summer and everyone is signing up for summer camp. Squish's mom signed him up for swim camp while all his other friends are attending ballet camp. Learning a few lessons from his ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Copyright

About the author (2012)

Brother-and-sister team MATTHEW "InkBoy" HOLM and JENNIFER "WriterGirl" HOLM are the dashing duo behind the award-winning Babymouse series. In addition to fighting the forces of evil, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.


From the Trade Paperback edition.