White Gold Wielder

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, Oct 1, 2009 - 512 pages
21 Reviews

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

The ending could be percieved as a deus ex machina. - Goodreads
Which makes for the best writing. - Goodreads
The plot advanced little. - Goodreads
As before, the book wraps up many plot lines. - Goodreads
We rejoin the main plot. - Goodreads

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DinadansFriend - LibraryThing

I'm no fan of Thomas Covenant, but in those days there was a good deal less long fantasy to read. So I did read this, but as my only alternatives were "Horseclans" books, I claim lack of good stuff. Dreary Thomas keeps pushing people away, and I can't see why they keep trying to help him. Read full review

Review: White Gold Wielder (The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant #3)

User Review  - AL - Goodreads

Although this is the second book of the final series, I liked it the best of all the Unbeliever novels. The ending is to die for and the use of power in this manuscript is the best of them all. Read full review

About the author (2009)

Stephen Donaldson, 1947 - Novelist Stephen Donaldson was born on May 13, 1947 in Cleveland, Ohio to James R. Donaldson, a medical missionary, and Mary Ruth Reeder, a prosthetist. His father was an orthopedic surgeon that worked with lepers in India. He lived in India between the ages of three to sixteen and while listening to one of his father's lectures on leprosy, he conceived the legendary Thomas Covenant. Donaldson attended the College of Wooster, Ohio and graduated in 1968. Afterwards, he spent two years being a conscientious objector doing hospital work in Akron and then attended Kent University where he received an M.A. in English. Donaldson's publishing debut was with "Lord Foul's Bane" (1977), which was the first book in the fantasy trilogy entitled The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever. It was named best novel of the year by the British Fantasy Society and received the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, in 1979. He followed with the sequel series The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, also set in The Land, starting with "Daughter of Regals," and then the Mordant's Need series with "The Mirror of Her Dreams" and "A Man Rides Through." Donaldson is also the author of the Gap Into series of science fiction adventure that began with "The Real Story" and followed with "Forbidden Knowledge," "A Dark and Hungry God Arises," and "Chaos and Order." In addition to the awards he received for his first novel/series, Donaldson has also received the Balrog Fantasy Award for Best Novel for "The Wounded Land" in 1981 and for "The One Tree" in 1983, the Saturn Award for Best Fantasy Novel for "The One Tree" in 1983, the Balrog Fantasy Award for Best Collection for "Daughter of Regals and Other Tales" in 1985, and the Science Fiction Book Club Award for Best Book of the Year for "The Mirror of Her Dreams" in 1988 and "A Man Rides Through" in 1989. He also received The College of Wooster Distinguished Alumni Award in 1989, the WIN/WIN Popular Fiction Readers Choice Award for Favorite Fantasy Author in 1991, the Atlanta Fantasy Fair Award for Outstanding Achievement in 1992 and the President's Award, The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts in 1997. He lives in New Mexico.

Bibliographic information