Murther and Walking Spirits

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1991 - Fiction - 357 pages
17 Reviews
Anthony Burgess listed Davies' The Rebel Angels among the 99 best novels of our time and declared that Davies himself is "without doubt Nobel Prize material". In this unusual novel, Davies' protagonist is murdered in the first sentence of the book, but he lingers as a ghost to view the exploits of his ancestors, from the American Revolution to the present.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Murther and Walking Spirits

User Review  - Vincent - Goodreads

I have been a fan of Robertson Davies for many years and keep going back to this novel. It took a special meaning this time as I just lost my mother, and questions about after life and family stories ... Read full review

Review: Murther and Walking Spirits

User Review  - Carolyn Crocker - Goodreads

When the narrator is murdered in a novel's first sentence, what follows is bound to be unusual. Haunting his film critic killer as he attends a film festival, Connor Gilmartin finds himself connecting ... Read full review


Roughly Translated 1
Cain Raised
Of Water and the Holy Spirit

4 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1991)

Novelist, playwright, and journalist, Robertson Davies is one of Canada's best-known writers internationally. He grew up in Kingston, Ontario, where he later attended Queen's University. In 1938, he received a B.Litt. from Oxford, and then joined the Old Vic Theatre Company. Returning to Canada in 1940, he served as editor of the influential publication Saturday Night until 1942. For the next 20 years he was editor of the Peterborough Examiner in Ontario, where he wrote the Samuel Marchbanks Sketches. From 1953 to 1971 he served on the board of the Stratford Festival. In 1963 Davies became the first master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto. In the 1970s Davies published the Deptford Trilogy - Fifth Business (1970), The Manticore (1972), and World of Wonders (1975). Beginning in 1981, Davies published the Cornish Trilogy - The Rebel Angels (1981), What's Bred in the Bone (1985), and The Lyre of Orpheus (1988). These novels, with their academic setting, reveal Davies's awareness of Canada's intellectual and artistic sophistication.

Bibliographic information