Scrambled Eggs & Whiskey: Poems, 1991-1995

Front Cover
Copper Canyon Press, 1996 - Poetry - 101 pages
16 Reviews
There can be no doubt that Hayden Carruth is one of the pre-eminent American poets of the late twentieth century. In these poems written since publication of his Collected Shorter Poems, 1946-1991, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, he speaks with intimate and urgent clarity of love late in life, and in heartrending poems addresses his daughter's struggle against cancer. In others he engages the loves, friendships, and social concerns of a lifetime. With passion and pathos and great good humor, in poems that could only be written by a mature poet at the height of his powers, Carruth achieves a nobility of vision that is rare in any age.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Scrambled Eggs and Whiskey

User Review  - James - Goodreads

A beautiful book of poetry by an aging poet in full mastery of his craft. The poems center on the themes of aging, finding love later in life, appreciating nature and moments, and his heartbreak as his daughter suffers incurable cancer. Highly recommended. Read full review

Review: Scrambled Eggs and Whiskey

User Review  - Brittany Wilmes - Goodreads

Lovely poems by a compassionate, thoughtful man. Plenty of his ancient references went about three feet over my head, but I especially loved his line stating that he is "mostly Love, now." (Kudos to George Saunders for leading me to this collection via his Syracuse commencement speech.) Read full review


FiveThirty am
A Summer with Tu Fu
Auburn Poem

5 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Hayden Carruth is the author of twenty-five books of poetry, a novel, four books of criticism, and two anthologies, and has held fellowships from the Bollingen, Guggenheim and Lannan foundations, as well as the NEA. His many awards include the National Book Award for Poetry, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Lenore Marshall/The Nation Award.

Bibliographic information