Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?: Selected Early Stories

Front Cover
Ontario Review Press, 1993 - Fiction - 522 pages
74 Reviews
The sixties and seventies witnessed the emergence of Joyce Carol Oates as one of America's foremost writers of the short story. In 1962, 'The Fine White Mist of Winter, ' composed when the author was 19 years old, appeared in The Literary Review and was selected for both the O. Henry Awards and Best American Short Stories of that year.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fantastic story telling. - Goodreads
Oates is a great writer. - Goodreads
Her prose will consume you. - Goodreads

Review: Where are You Going, Where Have You Been?: Selected Early Stories

User Review  - Paul - Goodreads

Five stars for the title story, which is fantastic. I'm not terribly unique in saying that Joyce Carol Oates is on my short list of great modern authors. With incisive writing she makes you feel ... Read full review

Review: Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?

User Review  - Jordan Lindow - Goodreads

Are you looking for quick read that will send shivers down your spine? May I present, Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been? Since it is so short, I really can't go into detail except you know that ... Read full review


Upon the Sweeping Flood 1966
The Wheel of Love 1970
Four Summers

5 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1993)

Joyce Carol Oates was born in 1938 in Upstate, New York. She attended Syracuse University and graduated as Valedictorian. She then attended University of Wisconsin where she earned an M. A. By the time she was 47 years old, she had published at least that many separate books, including 16 full-length novels and more than a dozen collections of short stories. Some of her works were done under the pseudonym Rosamund Smith. She has also written numerous poems collected in several volumes, at least three plays, many critical essays, and articles and reviews on various subjects while fulfilling her obligations as a professor of English at the University of Windsor, where with her husband Raymond Smith she edited the Ontario Review, which the couple has continued since moving to Princeton in 1978. She has earned a reputation as indubitably one of our most prolific writers and very likely one of our best. Her fiction alone demonstrates considerable variety, ranging from direct naturalism to complex experiments in form. However, what chiefly makes her work her own is a quality of psychological realism, an uncanny ability to bring to the surface an underlying sense of foreboding or a threat of violence that seems to lurk just around the corner from the everyday domestic lives she depicts so realistically. Her first six novels, including Them (1969), which won the National Book Award, express these qualities in varying ways. she is also the recipient of an NEA grant, a Guggenheim fellowship, the PEN/Malamud Lifetime Achievement Award, and the F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for Lifetime Achievement in American Literature. Her title Give Me Your Heart made the New York Times Best seller list for 2011.

Bibliographic information