The boarding-house

Front Cover
Bodley Head, 1965 - Fiction - 287 pages
2 Reviews
Satirisk roman om sære gamle mennesker i et pensionat.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Boarding-House

User Review  - Douglas Roberts - Goodreads

Funny and depressing. I'd only read one other, much later, William Trevor book, so wasn't expecting this at all. A farce of lonely and absurd characters. Read full review

Review: The Boarding-House

User Review  - Frank - Goodreads

One of Trevor's earliest works, in the mode of The Old Boys and The Love Department, About those quirky, quare folk from John Bull's original island as can only be appreciated by an emirgré from that ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1965)

William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, County Cork, Ireland on May 24, 1928. He received a degree in History from Trinity College in 1950. Before becoming a full-time author in 1965, he worked as a sculptor, a teacher, and a copywriter at an advertising agency. Trevor exhibited his sculpture in Dublin and England and was joint winner of the International Year of the Political Prisoner art competition in 1952. He wrote his first novel, A Standard of Behaviour, in 1958. His novels include The Old Boys, which won the Hawthornden Prize in 1964; The Children of Dynmouth, which won the Whitbread Award in 1976; Fools of Fortune, which won the Whitbread Award in 1983; The Silence in the Garden, which won the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year Award; and Felicia's Journey, which won both the Whitbread Book of the Year and the Sunday Express Book of the Year awards. He is the editor of The Oxford Book of Short Stories and has written plays for the stage and for radio and television. His short story collection The Hill Bachelors received the 2001 Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Fiction and the PEN/Macmillan Silver Pen Award for Short Stories. His other short story collections include The Day We Got Drunk on Cake and Other Stories (1967); The Ballroom of Romance and Other Stories (1972); Beyond the Pale (1981); A Bit On the Side (2004); and Cheating at Canasta (2007). In 1976, he received the Allied Irish Banks' Prize and in 1977 he was awarded an honorary CBE in recognition of his services to literature. In 1992 he received The Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence and in 1999 the David Cohen British Literature Prize. He was awarded the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award in Irish Literature in 2008.

Bibliographic information