Front Cover
Thorndike-Magna, 1990 - Fiction - 780 pages
20 Reviews
In picturesque Moonlight Cove, California, inexplicable deaths occur and spine-tingling terror descends to this "edge of paradise." Growing numbers of residents harbor a secret so dark it is sure to cost even more lives.Tessa Lockland comes to town to probe her sister's seemingly unprompted suicide. Independent and clever, she meets up with Sam Booker, an undercover FBI agent sent to Moonlight Cove to discover the truth behind the mysterious deaths. They meet Harry Talbot, a wheelchair-bound veteran, who has seen things from his window that he was not meant to see. Together they begin to understand the depth of evil in Moonlight Cove. Chrissie Foster, a resourceful eleven-year-old, running from her parents who have suddenly changed and in whom darkness dwells, joins them. Together they make a stand against darkness and terror.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

The plot in this one is a good idea. - Goodreads
For a genre writer, Koontz is wonderfully diverse. - Goodreads
This sort of writing makes me crazy. - Goodreads

Review: Midnight

User Review  - Sati Marie Frost - Goodreads

I'm really quite torn on this book, because I can't exactly say I LIKED it. I thought it was scary, haunting, nicely written, and absolutely not to my taste. For a genre writer, Koontz is wonderfully ... Read full review

Review: Midnight

User Review  - Danielle Priser - Goodreads

Finally read a Dean Koontz. As a long-time fan of such authors as Stephen King and Anne Rice, I was not so sure about someone whose books seem to be regularly made into any type of film- until I saw ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

Dean Koontz was born on July 9, 1945 in Everett, Pennsylvania. He received a degree in education from Shippensburg State College in 1967. A former high school English teacher as well as a teacher-counselor with the Appalachian Poverty Program, he began writing as a child to escape an ugly home life caused by his alcoholic father. A prolific writer at a young age, he had sold a dozen novels by the age of 25. Early in his career, he wrote under numerous pen names including David Axton, Brian Coffey, K. R. Dwyer, Leigh Nichols, Richard Paige, and Owen West. He is best known for the books written under his own name, many of which are bestsellers, including Midnight, Cold Fire, The Bad Place, Hideaway, The Husband, Odd Hours, 77 Shadow Street, Innocence, and The City.

Bibliographic information