Pantaleón y las Visitadoras

Front Cover
Alfaguara, 2001 - Fiction - 326 pages
11 Reviews
Pantaleón Pantoja, un capitán del Ejército recientemente ascendido, recibe la misión de establecer un servicio de prostitución para las Fuerzas Armadas del Perú en el más absoluto secreto militar. Estricto cumplidor del deber que le ha sido asignado, Pantaleón se traslada a Iquitos, en plena selva, para llevar a cabo su cometido, pero se entrega a esta misión con tal obcecación que termina por poner en peligro el engranje que él mismo ha puesto en movimiento. Así arranca la novela de Mario Vargas Llosa Pantaleón y las visitadoras, publicada en 1973 y llevada posteriormente al cine.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Miguelnunonave - LibraryThing

Surreal and absurd. An unengaging love story, where the character study is too light-weight for my taste. Lacking in depth. OK, I understand the bold genre, I even agree that the writing is tremendously original, but it simply is not my cup of tea... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - WorldInColour - LibraryThing

Once upon a time, a younger version of this lovely reviewer went to a theater somewhere in the north of France and was witness of a French reproduction of 'L'écume des jours'. The show was a ... Read full review

Related books

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2001)

The writer, politician, and journalist Mario Vargas Llosa was born in Arequipa, Peru on March 28, 1936. From 1950 to 1952 he attended Lima's Leoncio Prado Military Academy. He was also enrolled at the Colegio Nacional San Miguel de Piura. He studied literature and law at the National University of San Marcos and received his Ph.D from the University of Madrid in 1959. Considered to be one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, he rose to fame in the 1960s with such controversial novels as The Time of the Hero, The Green House, and Conversation in the Cathedral. His works vary in genre from literary criticism and journalism to comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers. His other works include Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, The Feast of the Goat, and The War of the End of the World. He has won many awards for his writing, including the Rómulo Gallegos International Novel Prize, the Premio Leopoldo Alas in 1959, the Premio Biblioteca Breve in 1962, the Premio Planeta in1993, the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1994, the Jerusalem Prize in 1995, and the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010.

Bibliographic information