Rookies of the Year

Front Cover
Temple University Press, 2005 - History - 211 pages
0 Reviews
Baseball players only have one opportunity to be named "Rookie of the Year" by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Although some recipients of this prestigious award such as Orlando Cepeda have become league MVPs, or Hall of Fame honorees, others, like Joe Charboneau, failed to live up to their initial promise. "Rookies of the Year profiles 116 winners--from Jackie Robinson (the first rookie of the year in 1947), to Rod Carew, Derek Jeter, and the 2004 honorees. Each player's initial major league season and subsequent career achievements are included. Featuring interviews with dozens of baseball stars, this is the most comprehensive book ever written on Rookies of the Year. It provides indispensable information on some of baseball's greatest athletes.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Related books


The Jackie Robinson Award
First Steps toward Cooperstown
A Double Helping of Hardware
Dugout Directors
The Short Tuners
Available Only Once
Ready for 21stcentury Action

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References from web pages

2005 ROY Profiles
With Street's selection, the Athletics now join the Browns/Orioles franchise with seven Rookies of the Year. Only the Yankees with eight have more among ... tempress/ roy_profiles.html

| Contextos
“Rookies of the Year” es el título de la obra escrita en inglés por el periodista ... “Rookies of the Year” fue editado por Temple University Press. ... 2006/ 072502.php

About the author (2005)

Bob Bloss native of Erie, Pennsylvania, is a freelance journalist and historian specializing in baseball coverage. He is the author of Baseball Managers: Stats, Stories, and Strategies (Temple).

Bibliographic information