Indian Financial Markets: An Insider's Guide to How the Markets Work (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Elsevier, Sep 30, 2008 - Business & Economics - 264 pages
1 Review
The whole world wants to invest in India. But how to do this successfully? Written by two Indian financial experts with a seasoned expert of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, this book tells you the why and how of investing in India. It explains how India's financial markets work, discusses the amazing growth of the Indian economy, identifies growth drivers, uncovers areas of uncertainty and risk. It describes how each market works: private equity and IPOs, bonds, stocks, derivatives, commodities, real estate, currency. The authors include a discussion of capital controls in each section to address the needs of foreign investors. Learn about the the markets, the instruments, the participants, and the institutions governing trading, clearing, and settlement of transactions, as well as the legal and regulatory framework governing financial securities transactions.

--Written by two life-long insiders who can explain India's financial markets to outsiders
--Clear and comprehensive coverage of this economic powerhouse
--Caters to the needs of foreign investors
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book is a feast to motivated students of finance and markets. The clinical approach and the authors have a way of cutting to the bone revealing the bare essentials of India's Financial Markets. Their viewing the system through the lens of Financial markets allows them to get rid of superfluous info. The book is in the tradition of TRADING & EXCHANGES by Larry Harris. Their tight packing of information laced with empirical research is worth reading, re reading, chewing and digesting. The mark of a truly lasting book is the fresh insights it provides every time you reopen it. In terms of economy of words and space this book reminds me of PHYSICS by Resnick & Halliday.  

Contents

Chapter 1 The Economy
1
Chapter 2 The Firms
33
Chapter 3 Private Equity and the IPO Market
45
Chapter 4 The Public Equity Market
55
Chapter 5 Government Bonds
81
Chapter 6 Corporate Bonds
95
Chapter 7 Commodity Futures Markets
113
Chapter 8 Real Estate
133
Chapter 10 Financial Firms
165
Chapter 11 Policy Issues
191
Chapter 12 What Can Global Financial Firms Do with India?
213
Appendix A Sources
219
Appendix B Abbreviations
221
Appendix C Interpreting Those Strange Indian Numbers
225
Bibliography
227
Index
231

Chapter 9 The Rupee
153

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Susan Thomas is associate professor of musicology and Women 's Studies at the University of Georgia. She received her Ph.D. in musicology from Brandeis University and an M.A. in women 's studies from the same institution. Additionally, she earned masters degrees from Tufts University and the New England Conservatory. Her research interests are Cuban and Latin American Music, early twentieth-century musical theater and film, gendered performance practices, and transnationalism and diaspora.

Bibliographic information