With Malice Toward None: The Life of Abraham Lincoln (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jun 30, 2009 - Biography & Autobiography - 544 pages
108 Reviews

The definitive life of Abraham Lincoln, With Malice Toward None is historian Stephen B. Oates's acclaimed and enthralling portrait of America's greatest leader. Oates masterfully charts, with the pacing of a novel, Lincoln's rise from bitter poverty in America's midwestern frontier to become a self-made success in business, law, and regional politics. The second half of the book examines his legendary leadership on the national stage as president during one of the country's most tumultuous and bloody periods, the Civil War years, which concluded tragically with Lincoln's assassination. In this award-winning biography, Lincoln steps forward out of the shadow of myth as a recognizable, fully drawn American whose remarkable life continues to inspire and inform us today.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Beautiful, lyrical prose. - Goodreads
Incredible. A page turner. - Goodreads
Offers great insight into Pres. Lincoln. - Goodreads
Simply fantastic overview of Lincoln's life. - Goodreads
Educational, interesting, inspiring. - Goodreads
It's easy to read and highly engaging. - Goodreads

Review: With Malice Toward None: A Biography of Abraham Lincoln

User Review  - Dani Massaro - Goodreads

read this book, or never speak another word about Abraham Lincoln again. Read full review

Review: With Malice Toward None: A Biography of Abraham Lincoln

User Review  - Matt - Goodreads

Only America could have produced a man like Abraham Lincoln: the frontier philosopher. With Malice Toward None is an excellent book, by the way. Unlike most history books, it flows. It tells a great story without tripping over itself. Read full review


Rivers of Time
The New Reckoning
Reference Notes

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Stephen B. Oates is a professor emeritus of history at the University of Massachusetts–Amherst. His books include Let the Trumpet Sound: A Life of Martin Luther King, Jr. and With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln. Oates has been awarded numerous honors, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, and Nevins-Freeman Award of the Civil War Round Table of Chicago for lifetime achievement in the field of Civil War studies.

Bibliographic information