Back where He Started

Front Cover
Alyson Books, 2005 - Fiction - 295 pages
14 Reviews

They say true freedom arrives when all the kids are gone and the dog dies. With his family grown and his husband Zack having decided to become a middle-aged clichA(c) and marry his secretary, Chris Thayer is about to discover that starting life over at 48 is just as complicated, frustrating and thrilling as the first time around. After relocating to the North Carolina beach community of Emerald Isle, Chris finds a new appreciation of his role as the heart of the home to his grown children and becomes involved in the patchwork lives of his neighbors. To his unending surprise, he also finds himself the object of a new man's affections, a rowdy jack-of-all-trades with an unnervingly direct stare. In the same quiet, understated manner that he demonstrated in his critically acclaimed first novel, "Metes and Bounds," Jay Quinn gives the traditional Southern novel a decidedly untraditional twist.

Jay Quinn is the founding editor and executive editor of Haworth Press's Southern Tier Editions. He is the author of "Metes and Bounds" and "The Mentor" and has edited "Rebel Yell: Stories by Contemporary Southern Gay Authors." He lives in south Florida.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Back Where He Started

User Review  - Chocalicious - Goodreads

Just beautiful. Laughed. Cried. Laughed. Cried. Cried. Smiled. Laughed. Cried. Smiled. Smiled. Smiled. :-) Read full review

Review: Back Where He Started

User Review  - Shirley (Secret Squirrel) - Goodreads

There were parts of this book that bothered me but all in all I liked it a lot. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

6 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Jay Quinn is the author of five novels: Metes and Bounds (2001); Back Where He Started (2005); The Good Neighbor (2006); The Beloved Son (2007) and The Boomerang Kid (2008) and is working on the next one.

Bibliographic information