Caprice: A Novel

Front Cover
Viking, 1987 - British Columbia - 266 pages
2 Reviews
In the mid 1890s, a whip toting cowgirl is bent on getting revenge on the man who murdered her brother. In the rough country outside Kamloops, B.C. she comes face to face with his killer.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Caprice

User Review  - Gary - Goodreads

Interesting view of the west from a different point of view. Read full review

Review: Caprice

User Review  - Peter - Goodreads

George Bowering, more noted for his poetry than his prose, tackles the classic western in this gender busting, genre altering account of a young woman in the 'wild west". Fans of Pete Dexter, Deadwood and the like will enjoy it. Read full review

Contents

Section 1
13
Section 2
19
Section 3
25
Copyright

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1987)

George Bowering taught English at Simon Fraser University from 1972 until his retirement in 2001. Canada's first Poet Laureate, he is an Officer of both the Order of Canada and the Order of British Columbia. He was one of the founders of the poetry publication Tish, served as and has received two Governor General's awards: the first, for poetry, in 1969 for The Gangs of Kosmos and Rocky Mountain Foot and the second, in 1980, for Burning Water, reissued by New Star in 2007. Bowering is well-known for his love of baseball, about which he has also written. He is the author of nine novels, five books of short stories, and numerous volumes of poetry, including Autobiology (New Star Books, 1972). Bowering has said he writes about history because it is "so damned interesting." In September, he trekked to New York to watch the Yankees play their final series at Yankee Stadium.

Bibliographic information