Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery

Front Cover
Broadway Books, 2002 - Biography & Autobiography - 256 pages
13 Reviews
In the tradition of Garrison Keillor, Open Secrets captures the friendships, rivalries, and rumors of small-town life by chronicling the lives of the citizens of a small Midwestern community through the eyes of a young minister.

Fresh out of divinity school and bursting with enthusiasm, Richard Lischer found himself assigned to a small conservative church in an economically depressed town in southern Illinois. Itís an awkward marriage at best--a young man with a Ph.D. in theology, full of ideas and ambitions, determined to improve his parish and bring it into the twenty-first century, and a community that is ďas tightly sealed as a jar of home-canned pickles.Ē In Open Secrets, Lischer tells not only his own story but also the story of New Cana and its inhabitants. With charm, openness, and humor, Lischer brings to life the clash of cultures and personalities that marks his pastoral tenure, including his own doubts, as well as those of his parishioners, that a twenty-eight-year-old suburban-raised liberal can deal with the troubled marriages, alcoholism, teen sex, inadequate farm subsidies, and other concerns of the conservative, tightly knit community. But the inhabitants of New Cana--lovable, deeply flawed, imperfect people who stick together--open their arms to him in their own way, and the result is a colorful, poignant comedy of small-town life and all it has to offer.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery

User Review  - David Eversole - Goodreads

As a "preacher's kid" and now serving in the ministry myself, this was an interesting read. To see how he learned to apply some of his education to the practical ministry was good. The stories of people and the things they do are always interesting and entertaining. Read full review

Review: Open Secrets: A Spiritual Journey Through a Country Church

User Review  - Nathan - Goodreads

Lischer is a lucid writer who has the ability to critique his past. Ministry involves stories - the stories of the people we serve, our own stories, and the grand story we are invited to live into by God. Read full review

About the author (2002)

RICHARD LISCHER has served as pastor of Lutheran congregations in Illinois and Virginia, and for the past twenty years he has taught at the Duke University Divinity School. His most recent book is The Preacher King: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Word That Moved America. He lives in Durham, North Carolina.

Bibliographic information