The Best American Sports Writing 2011: The Best American Series (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Jane Leavy, Glenn Stout
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Oct 4, 2011 - Sports & Recreation - 384 pages
77 Reviews

The Best American Series®

First, Best, and Best-Selling

The Best American series is the premier annual showcase for the country’s finest short fiction and nonfiction. Each volume’s series editor selects notable works from hundreds of magazines, journals, and websites. A special guest editor, a leading writer in the field, then chooses the best twenty or so pieces to publish. This unique system has made the Best American series the most respected—and most popular—of its kind.

The Best American Sports Writing 2011 includes

Paul Solotaroff, Sally Jenkins, Wells Tower, John McPhee, David Dobbs, Wright Thompson, P. J. O’Rourke, Selena Roberts, and others


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amelish - LibraryThing

A quick read while cashiering at the co-op. Because of limited time, I just read the pieces that Dusty had bookmarked for whatever reason: "The Wound and the Bow" by David Shields, "Duel in the Sun ... Read full review

Review: The Best American Sports Writing 2007 (Best American Sports Writing)

User Review  - Steve - Goodreads

My favorite sports article of all time (Bugs Bunny, Greatest Banned Player of All Time by Derek Zumsteg) is featured in this anthology. Other stories cover various sports topics like the shadiness of ... Read full review


End Matter
Back Cover

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

JANE LEAVY is an award-winning former sportswriter and feature writer for the Washington Post. She is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Sandy Koufax: A Lefty's Legacy and The Last Boy: Micky Mantle and the End of America's Childhood.

GLENN STOUT is the author of Young Woman and the Sea and Fenway 1912.

Bibliographic information