A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

Front Cover
Basic Books, 2004 - Business & Economics - 216 pages
19 Reviews
In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
0

Review: A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

User Review  - Michael Quinn - Goodreads

Wow. What a weird book. Paulos seems to be writing a glorified journal, since the only suitable audience for this book are people exactly like Paulos before he began heavily investing in Worldcom. Who ... Read full review

Review: A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

User Review  - Christian - Goodreads

This was a fun and entertaining read. The author really liked giving anecdotes about his investing experience, and some unrelated math ones, too. I wouldn't rely on it too much for practical advice, or as an introduction to investing, but it is an entertaining read. Read full review

Related books

Contents

Anticipating Others Anticipations
1
Fear Greed and Cognitive Illusions
13
Trends Crowds and Waves
37
Chance and Efficient Markets
57
Value Investing and Fundamental Analysis
85
Options Risk and Volatility
117
Diversifying Stock Portfolios
141
Connectedness and Chaotic Price Movements
163
From Paradox to Complexity
187
Bibliography
203
Index
205
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

References from web pages

Soaked! - New York Times
''In my less critical moments (although not only then),'' he writes in ''A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market,'' ''I mentally amalgamate the royalties ...
query.nytimes.com/ gst/ fullpage.html?res=9D0CE1DE1431F931A35752C1A9659C8B63

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market, best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries ...
www.math.temple.edu/ ~paulos/ stockjac.html

Book Report : A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market ...
A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market. By John Allen Paulos. Basic Books, 224 pages. $17.5. Reviewed by Jim Peterson. *. When heightened expectations are ...
www.iht.com/ articles/ 2003/ 07/ 12/ mbook_ed3_.php

E books for Everyone: A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
Playful and informative, Paulos's book will be appreciated by investors with a sense of humor. Download A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market ...
e-books-for-everyone.blogspot.com/ 2008/ 01/ mathematician-plays-stock-market.html

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
Here is a book to read for the fun of it: A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market, by Paul Allen Paulos I enjoyed this authors worldcom personal stock.
www.marketmillionaires.com/ cocktail-lounge/ 1275-mathematician-plays-stock-market.html

Kliatt: Paulos, John Allen. A mathematician plays the stock market
A mathematician plays the stock market. Basic Books. 224p. c2003. 0465054811. $14.95. A. Many adults invest in the stock market and many high school ...
findarticles.com/ p/ articles/ mi_m0PBX/ is_5_38/ ai_n6207125/ print

Math Digest
Reviews of A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market by John Allen Paulos: New and notable books, Science News, 14 June 2003; "Humor, clarity make 'Math' easy ...
www.ams.org/ mathmedia/ mathdigest/ 200307-paulos.html

Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market ...
mininova.org Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market (Basic Books, 2003) pdf books ebooks: 4 hours ago ...
www.torrentz.com/ 089090359f14f058c7628fe12e4e97b6ad2773b9

Torrent - Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock ...
Torrent - Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market ... Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market (Basic Books, ...
www.btmon.com/ Other/ Unsorted/ Basic_Books_-_Paulos_-_A_Mathematician_Plays_the_Stock_Market_Basic_Books_2003_.pdf.tor...

Report a problem with Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays ...
Report a problem with Basic Books - Paulos - A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market (Basic Books, 2003) pdf. You can use this page to send a warning message ...
www.mininova.org/ rep/ 508600

About the author (2004)

John Allen Paulos received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Wisconsin and is professor of mathematics at Temple University. Dr. Paulos has written a number of scholarly papers on mathematical logic, probability, and the philosophy of science. He is also the author of Innumeracy: Mathematical Illiteracy and Its Consequences, Beyond Numeracy: Ruminations of a Numbers Man, Mathematics and Humor, and A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife and two children.

Bibliographic information