Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

Front Cover
Schwartz Publishing, 2005 - Anti-feminism - 224 pages
22 Reviews
If male chauvinist pigs of years past thought of women as pieces of meat, female chauvinist pigs today are doing them one better, making sex objects of other women - and themselves. with a wink and a nudge, they are welcoming back strippers, porn stars and Playboy Bunnies as the heroes of post-feminist culture. In Female Chauvinist Pigs, Ariel Levy asks the question: what's in it for us women? Terrifically witty and wickedly intelligent, this book stands firmly in the tradition of Susan Faludi's Backlash and Naomi Wolf's the Beauty Myth.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
0

Review: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

User Review  - Jane - Goodreads

I'm a little undecided with this book. The premise of an in-depth exploration of this culture was very interesting to me but I don't feel like it quite delivered on it. At the end of the book, the ... Read full review

Review: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

User Review  - Nk Layne - Goodreads

Incorrectly, this book was recommended to me because the queer chapter was supposed to resonate with me. Um.... that chapter did nothing but fill me with abhorrent rage. When I spoke to the previous ... Read full review

Bibliographic information