Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

Front Cover
Schwartz Publishing, 2005 - Anti-feminism - 224 pages
7 Reviews
If male chauvinist pigs of years past thought of women as pieces of meat, female chauvinist pigs today are doing them one better, making sex objects of other women - and themselves. With a wink and a nudge, they are welcoming back strippers, porn stars and Playboy Bunnies as the heroes of post-feminist culture. In Female Chauvinist Pigs, Ariel Levy asks the question: what's in it for us women? Terrifically witty and wickedly intelligent, this book stands firmly in the tradition of Susan Faludi's Backlash and Naomi Wolf's The Beauty Myth.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0

No kidding!

User Review  - Eliza the Bookseller - Borders

I love this book. The author makes a lot of really good and interesting points about "the rise of raunch" in American culture, and why it may not be such a good thing (but rather a step backwards ... Read full review

Review: Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

User Review  - Chris - Goodreads

2.5 Mostly things I already knew. It's not badly written; it's just rather surface deep, if you know what I mean. Some of the interviews are rather interesting. Read full review

Bibliographic information