The First Miracle

Front Cover
HarperCollinsPublishers, 1994 - Christmas - 29 pages
4 Reviews
"In the forty-third year of the reign of the Emperor Augustus Caesar, ruler of half the known world, a mischievous thirteen-year-old Roman boy is sent on an errand by his mother. On the way he encounters all the usual sights and sounds of village life in Judaea. But that evening Bethlehem is even more crowded than usual, since his father, the governor of the province, has ordered a census so he can tax all the emperor's subjects." "Then the boy comes across a sight he will never forget - a man and his pregnant wife are being turned away from an inn, and are preparing to spend the night in a stable...." "With a marvelous final double twist that could have come only from the pen of Jeffrey Archer, The First Miracle is destined to take its place beside Dicken's A Christmas Carol and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales as a classic of the season."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A very meaningful and touching Christmas story by the master storyteller. It ceratinly will be enjoyed by the children as well as the adults.

Review: The First Miracle

User Review  - Nagaraj Prasadh - Goodreads

What else can be expected from a master storyteller. Tomorrow it would be 1 AD ! Lord Archer manages to keep the pages turning fast and just when you think that the story is going nowhere and about to ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Jeffrey Archer was born on April 15, 1940, in London, England. After graduating from Brasenose College, Oxford, he founded his own company named Arrow Enterprises and promptly amassed a fortune. In 1969, he was elected to the House of Commons. A conservative Member of Parliament, he was, at the age of 29, the youngest member at that time. While in Parliament, he invested in a corporation and lost his fortune because of embezzlement. Devastated and facing financial ruin, he recounted his experiences in his book, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less. The success of this book launched his writing career. His other works include Kane and Abel, Honor among Thieves, Shall We Tell the President?, A Quiver Full of Arrows, The Prodigal Daughter, and The Sins of the Father. He is also the author of The Clifton Chronicles series. He writes plays including Beyond Reasonable Doubt and The Accused. He was sentenced to four years imprisonment because of perjury and conspiracy to pervert the course of justice, and was released in July 2003. He published three volumes of his Prison Diary: Hell, Purgatory, and Heaven. In 2014, his title Be Careful What You Wish For made The New York Times Best Seller List.

Bibliographic information