Searching for God Knows What

Front Cover
Thomas Nelson Inc, 2004 - Religion - 246 pages
849 Reviews

In Searching for God Knows What, Donald Miller's provocative and funny book, he shows readers that the greatest desire of every person is the desire for redemption. Every person is constantly seeking redemption (or at least the feeling of it) in his or her life, believing countless gospels that promise to fix the brokenness. Typically their pursuits include the desire for fulfilling relationships, successful careers, satisfying religious systems, status, and escape. Miller reveals how the inability to find redemption leads to chaotic relationships, self-hatred, the accumulation of meaningless material possessions, and a lack of inner peace. Readers will learn to identify in themselves and within others the universal desire for redemption. They will discover that the gospel of Jesus is the only way to find meaning in life and true redemption. Mature believers as well as seekers and new Christians will find themselves identifying with the narrative journey unfolded in the book, which is simply the pursuit of redemption.

"Miller . . . writes on faith with candor and passion reminiscent of Frederick Buechner and Anne Lamott." --The Oregonian

"Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller's newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market's most creative writers." --Christianity Today

"For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. Sharing stories of his upbringing and his journey in more recent years, he perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner .†. . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start. --Relevant

"Whenever people ask me about Donald Miller, I notice the first thing I say is, 'That guy can write.' Having met Don, I also know he seeks to live what he writes, or better said, he writes what he lives. That, I think, is the top credential for a person who writes about ultimate concerns--spirituality, meaning, purpose, life, God, and joy. In Searching for God Knows What, you'll find more of his great writing, honest feeling, and spiritual insight to help you on your journey. --Brian McLaren† Pastor, Author--www.anewkindofchristian.com

  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
315
4 stars
291
3 stars
162
2 stars
58
1 star
23

The Gospel is a love story, not a formula. - Goodreads
Aimless direction, annoying tone, and boring pace. - Goodreads
Miller's writing is engaging to me. - Goodreads
They provide good points of reference. - Goodreads
Once again easy to read and entertaining. - Goodreads
i had trouble following millers writing on this. - Goodreads

Review: Searching for God Knows What

User Review  - Emily Whelchel - Goodreads

What I Liked Donald Miller has a candor about his writing that is extremely compelling. This is what drew me into Blue Like Jazz and he keeps this style throughout everything I've read of his. The ... Read full review

Review: Searching for God Knows What

User Review  - Anna - Goodreads

This loosely interconnected collection of essays are told in the same extremely casual voice that Miller uses in Blue Like Jazz, but here it comes off as rambling and condescending. It's a tone that ... Read full review

Contents

Fine Wine The Failure of Formulas
1
Impostors Santa Takes a Leak
17
Feet of Trees What Do We Really Want?
35
Free Verse A Whole Message to a Whole Human Being
49
Naked Why Nudity Is the Point
61
Children of Chernobyl Why Did God Leave?
75
Adam Eve and the Alien How the Fall Makes You Feel
91
Lifeboat Theory How to Kill Your Neighbor
105
A Circus of Redemption Why a ThreeLegged Man Is Better Than a Bearded Woman
165
Morality Why I Am Better Than You
179
Religion A Public Relations Campaign for God
197
The Gospel of Jesus Why William Shakespeare Was a Prophet
215
Afterword
233
About the Author
235
Acknowledgments
237
Sample from Blue Like Jazz
245

Jesus Who Needs a Boat?
119
The Gospel of Jesus It Never Was a Formula
151

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Donald Miller is a best-selling author and public speaker based in Nashville, Tennessee who focuses on Christian spirituality. Miller's first book, Prayer and the Art of Volkswagen Maintenance (Harvest House Publishers 2000), chronicled the cross-country road trip he took at age 21. It was printed with little fanfare, but it was republished more successfully in 2005 as Through Painted Deserts. Miller became a New York Times Bestselling Author when he published Blue Like Jazz in 2003. In 2004, Miller released Searching For God Knows What. In 2006, he added another book, To Own A Dragon. Don's next book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, was released in late 2009. His title Scary Close: Dropping the Act and Acquiring a Taste for True Intimacy became a New York Times bestseller in 2015. In 2009 Miller began production of All Things Converge, a series of DVDs for small groups that feature Miller interviewing prominent Christian writers and theologians. The first three DVDs in the series were released in the fourth quarter of 2009.

Bibliographic information