I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream

Front Cover
E-Reads, Jun 1, 2008 - Fiction - 146 pages
11 Reviews
Over the course of his legendary career, Harlan Ellison has defied─and sometimes defined─modern fantasy literature, all while refusing to allow any genre to claim him. A Grand Master of the Science Fiction Writers of America, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Horror Writers Association as well as winner of countless awards, including the Hugo, Nebula, Edgar Allan Poe and Bram Stoker, Ellison is as unpredictable as he is unique, irrepressible as he is infuriating. E-Reads is proud to publish over thirty titles in Ellisonís brilliant catalog, now available in an elegant new package featuring Ellison himself. Genius never felt so combustible. - Among Ellisonís more famous stories, two consistently noted as among his very best ever are the Hugo Award-winning, postapocalyptic title story of this collection of seven shorts and the volumeís concluding story, ìPretty Maggie Moneyeyesî. Since Ellison himself strongly resists categorization of his work, we wonít call them science fiction, or SF, or speculative fiction or horror or anything else except compelling reading experiences that utterly unique. They could only have been written by the great Harlan Ellison and they are incomparably original.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream

User Review  - Goodreads

Quality stories and writing somewhat tainted by an undercurrent of misogyny and occasional racism. Read full review

Review: I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream

User Review  - Goodreads

It's difficult to give a super high mark to a short story collection. Like cooking a tasting plate, you love some bites and aren't too into others, bringing the entire average down. Some of these stories were brilliant, and all are worth reading. Read full review

About the author (2008)

Harlan Ellison has been called ìone of the great living American short story writersî by the Washington Post. In a career spanning more than 50 years, he has won more awards for the 74 books he has written or edited, more than 1700 stories, essays, articles, and newspaper columns, the two dozen teleplays and a dozen motion pictures he has created, then any other living fantasist. He has won the Hugo award eight and a half times (shared once); the Nebula award three times; the Bram Stoker award, presented by the Horror Writers Association, five times (including The Lifetime Achievement Award in 1996); the Edgar Allan Poe award of the Mystery Writers of America twice; the Georges Melies fantasy film award twice; two Audie Awards (for the best in audio recordings); and was awarded the Silver Pen for Journalism by P.E.N., the international writerís union. He was presented with the first Living Legend award by the International Horror Critics at the 1995 World Horror Convention. He is also the only author in Hollywood ever to win the Writers Guild of America award for Outstanding teleplay (solo work) four times, most recently for ìPaladin of the Lost Hourî his Twilight Zone episode that was Danny Kayeís final role, in 1987. In 2006, Ellison was awarded the prestigious title of Grand Master by the SFWA. "Dreams With Sharp Teeth," the special documentary chronicling his life and works, was released on DVD in May 2009.

Bibliographic information