Crazy Salad: Some Things about Women

Front Cover
Modern Library, 1975 - Humor - 217 pages
74 Reviews
The classic Crazy Salad, by screenwriting legend and novelist Nora Ephron, is an extremely funny, deceptively light look at a generation of women (and men) who helped shape the way we live now. In this distinctive, engaging, and simply hilarious view of a period of great upheaval in America, Ephron turns her keen eye and wonderful sense of humor to the media, politics, beauty products, and women's bodies. In the famous "A Few Words About Breasts," for example, she tells us: "If I had had them, I would have been a completely different person. I honestly believe that." Ephron brings her sharp pen to bear on the notable women of the time, and to a series of events ranging from Watergate to the Pillsbury Bake-Off. When it first appeared in 1975, Crazy Salad helped to illuminate a new American era--and helped us to laugh at our times and ourselves. This new edition will delight a fresh generation of readers.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
31
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
6

Got me addicted to Nora and her writing style - Goodreads
They do have humor, but insights as well. - Goodreads
So glad her writing lives on. - Goodreads

Review: Crazy Salad: Some Things About Women (Modern Library Humor and Wit)

User Review  - Cindy Wyatt - Goodreads

This is a collection of essays Nora Ephron wrote in the 70s when a smart woman writer was apparently a novelty. While some of them were entertaining, my overwhelming impression was the memory of how hard it was to female just a few short decades ago. Read full review

Review: Crazy Salad: Some Things About Women (Modern Library Humor and Wit)

User Review  - Martin - Goodreads

I just finished “Nixonland” and needed a softer view of the early 1970s, though I don't think that's what I got. I believe that Ephron places herself in the tradition of Dorothy Parker, and I am so ... Read full review

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1975)

Nora Ephron was a writer for many years at Esquire magazine and New York magazine and is the author of several books, including the novel Heartburn,
which she adapted for the screen. Her other screenwriting credits include When Harry Met Sally . . . and Silkwood, and she has written and directed several movies, including Sleepless in Seattle and You've Got Mail.

Bibliographic information