Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Front Cover
Basic Books, 2003 - History - 400 pages
22 Reviews
Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1

Review: Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

User Review  - James Pritchert - Goodreads

I read this but I was not entirely pleased with it. I did meet and talk to the author at a book signing. He is a great speaker and a professor at Howard University at the time of our meeting. Read full review

Review: Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

User Review  - Amanda - Goodreads

Put this down. Can pick it up again. Read full review

Contents

I
1
II
39
III
79
IV
131
V
173
VI
215
VII
261
VIII
301
IX
343
X
349
XI
355
XII
383
XIII
385
XIV
399
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2003)

The first Asian American to serve as a law professor at Howard University Law School in Washington, D.C., Frank H. Wu has written for a range of publications including the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and The Nation, and writes a regular column for Asian Week. He lives in Washington, D.C.

Bibliographic information