« PreviousContinue »
PRESENT BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Arthur H. Leonard George E. Doane
C. D. Kingman Matthew H. Cushing
C. W. Kingman H. P. Sparrow.
Charles M. Leonard George R. Sampson
The Middleboro Savings Bank was incorporated on March 15. 1873.
The first President, Everett Robinson
The Savings Bank occupied rooms in the town house until 1895, and then moved to the present building.
James H. Harlow became the president after the death of Everett Robinson, and Andrew M. Wood succeeded Cornelius B. Wood as treasurer. James H. Harlow resigned in 1904, and David G. Pratt was elected in his place.
Total number of open accounts at present . 4440
Total number of books issued 11,045
Total deposit in 1904 $1,499,154.35
Mr. Robinson died August 5, 1897.
Mr. Cornelius B. Wood died March 23, 1885.
Mr. Matthew H. Cushing is present Vice-President.
The Middleboro Loan & Fund Association was organized in 1854 under the same principle as building and loan associations of other states.
The first president was Nathan King, the second and last president, Everett Robinson.
Jacob B. Shaw was its secretary and treasurer during its existence. The monthly meetings were held in Jacob B. Shaw's store.
The shares were two dollars a month and reached maturity of $500. They matured in 1867, when the Association was closed.
The Middleboro Cooperative Bank, on somewhat similar lines, was organized in May, 1889, and is still in existence. Shares one dollar a month and maturity $200. It has now assets of about $250,000.
The first President, S. S. Bourne
The present President, W. H. Southworth
Secretary and Treasurer, Joseph E. Beals
The Board of Directors composed of fifteen men
Office of secretary, No. 1 Town Hall Building
Across the river, east of the Four Corners, is the neighborhood long known as Barden Hills. The old Barden house and
lands have been in the
The Old Barden House Thomas Boardman to
learn the trade of a carpenter. After about seven months of service, his apprenticeship for the remainder of the time was transferred to John Barker of Marshfield, for him to become a bricklayer. After completing his service, he lived in different places until about 1660, when he married Deborah Barker, his master's daughter, and settled in Barnstable, and in 1684 they moved to Middleboro. She was one of the original members of the First Church. He became an owner in nearly all of the purchases made from the Indians in town, and twenty years after his death, which occurred in 1692, his estate was divided among thirteen children.
MAD MARE'S NECK, WAUPAUNUCKET, FALL BROOK
|BOUT the eastern shore of Great Quittacus and Pocksha ponds, in the early days, a wild horse roamed, injuring the crops of the farmers, and from this the place takes its name. On the opposite shore lies Betty's Neck. Mad Mare's Neck is beautifully situated on the high land which commands an extensive view of the ponds in Middleboro and Lakeville, including the whole of the Twelve Men's Purchase and portions of the Sixteen Shilling and Snippituet Purchases. Marion Road and Miller Street are the principal highways; the latter leads from Great Quittacus to Fall Brook. On Pond Street stands the schoolhouse. In the early part of the last century the Miller family owned large
tracts of land; one of the lots on Miller Street being known as the Thousand Acre Lot. This farming region, noted for the fertility of the soil, has perhaps kept the number of inhabitants during the last hundred years better than any of the outlying districts of the town. All the land bordering on the pond has been bought by the city of New Bedford in connection with its water supply, and many summer residences are being erected in this vicinity.
One of the best-known citizens of a hundred years ago was Abishai T. Clark. He served for many years on the school committee, and was often employed in the winter in teaching the district schools. The house in which he lived, probably the oldest one here, built not far from the year 1750, is at present occupied by Clement Barrows.
Waupaunucket, known, as Walnut Plain, was often spelled in the early history of the town Wappahnucket. The name is found among the various Algonquin tribes, and is probably derived from two words, "wap-pah," meaning a "village," and "kook-ah," meaning "among the hills," which well describes its beautiful hill and dale. The land lying between the shores of Assawampsett Pond, the Nemasket River, and the Cape Cod Railroad was first occupied by George Vaughan, whose descendants have resided there, as well as some of the descendants of Elder Thomas Cushman. The inhabitants have for the most part been farmers, and, with the exception of one or two small mills, there never has been any manufacturing.
Benjamin P. Wood, a prominent citizen during the middle of the last century, lived on Wood Street. He held many important
Colonel Benjamin P. Wood . offices, and was greatly
respected for his good judgment, integrity, and kindness of heart. He was colonel in the Fourth Regiment of Infantry from 1826 to 1829, and was chairman of the selectmen for five years, an assessor, and overseer of the poor for many years. He came, as a young man, from Woodstock, or Hartland, Vt., and was a descendant from one of the many Middleboro families who had years before moved there.
About 1692 Captain Peter Bennett, a son of John Bennett, from England, settled in that part of Middleboro known as Fall Brook, so called from the brook which connects Tispequin Pond with Nemasket River. Here he bought a farm of John Nelson, which included what has since been known as the Miller farm,1 and married Priscilla, daughter of Isaac Howland, and granddaughter of John Howland of the Mayflower. He was a man of enterprise and business ability; he owned a water privilege on Fall Brook, and had a grist-mill near what is now Grove Street, then known as Rochester Lane. About the year 1735 he and Francis Miller petitioned the town for liberty to build a dam across the brook on which to erect a furnace. The petition was granted, and one of the first blast furnaces, subsequently known as the Fall Brook Furnace, was erected. It was for a time owned by John Miller, a son-in-law of Captain Peter Bennett, was afterwards enlarged, and in 1792 was used for the manufacture of hollow-ware under the superintendence of James and Zachariah Porter, who married into the Miller family, and still later was owned in part by Peter H. Peirce. There was a
1 Eddy ATole-Book.