Shurtliff for molesting and taking away an animal for the debt of one Charles Hopkins of Boston. The jury found for the plaintiff, with the charges of court to be paid by the defendant.

June 1, 1669, William Crow and George Vaughan, with John Tomson and William Nelson, were appointed commissioners to lay the line between the " Namasket Men's Land," called the Major's Purchase, and the towns of Marshfield, Duxbury, and Bridgewater. He was the first person granted a license to keep an ordinary for the entertainment of strangers in Middleboro by the General Court in 1669. On the 5th of July, 1670, the General-Court conferred twelve acres of land in the Major's Purchase on the south side of Nemasket River, which had not been recorded, and which was ordered at that time to be recorded. In 1671 he and John Morton were appointed by the Court of Commissioners to view damages done to the Indians by the horses and hogs of the English. He was constable of the town in 1675, and at that time bought part of the land in the Twenty-six Men's Purchase, and he was in the garrison at the time of the breaking out of the war.

His daughter married Isaac Howland. He died October 20, 1694, aged seventy-three.1 His will, dated June 30, 1694, was proved November 10, 1694, and the inventory was taken by Samuel Wood and John Bennett. His property amounted to forty-three pounds, eight shillings, and four pence.

He and. most of his descendants for several generations resided in that part of the town known as Wappanucket.

Joseph Vaughan, son of George Vaughan, was one of the selectmen of Middleboro; he was first elected to that office in

1689, and continued to serve for ■JO$t23f*~TSa.'lAGPicut* twenty-five years. At one time

he commanded a guard, which embraced all the local militia of the town. He was ensign in 1706, and lieutenant in 1712.

He lived in the house2 owned at one time by Captain Na

1 Eddy Memoranda.

2 From Bennett's Memoranda. He is spoken of as from Middleboro.

thaniel Wilder, and had much land in Middleboro, being an owner in the Sixteen Shilling Purchase.

He married Joanna Thomas, May 7, 1680, and Mercy, widow of Jabez Fuller, as his second wife, in 1720. He died March 2, 1734, aged eighty-one years.

Francis Walker married Elizabeth, a daughter of George Soule. He is spoken of as living in Middleboro in 1668, but moved to Duxbury in 1672, returning later to occupy the land left to his wife by her father.1

Henry Wood. The first mention of Henry Wood is in September 16, 1641, when he, residing in Plymouth, purchased of John Dunham, the younger, his house and land lying in Plymouth for seven pounds, but the time of his arrival and the time of his birth are unknown.

He married Abigail Jenney, a daughter of John Jenney, who at one time owned land in Lakenham, now Carver, April 28, 1644. At or about the time of his marriage, he moved to Yarmouth, where his daughter Sarah and his son Samuel were born. He moved to Plymouth before 1649, where his other children were born, and to Middleboro about 165s.2

Tradition has placed the site of his residence as not far from that of the late General Abiel Washburn. He was not among the Twenty-six Purchasers, but received the share that was set out to John Shaw, a portion of which subdivision has always been in the possession of his descendants. He was an original proprietor in the Little Lotmen's Purchase.

He was propounded as a freeman in 1647, and admitted in 1648. Before the incorporation of Middleboro he was a member of the Grand Inquest in 1648, 1656, 1659, and 1668, and often served as a juror in different trials in the colonies. He was a surveyor of highways in Plymouth in 1655 and in 1659, and was one of the complainants to the General Court against the rates which had been established in Plymouth. In 1665 he

1 Savage, p. 392.

a Middleboro was not set off from Plymouth until 1669.

had one share of the thirty acres of land on the westerly side of Nemasket River. He was one of the ancient freemen to whom land was granted in Taunton "which should be hereafter purchased, which purchase should not be prejudicial to the Indians." He is mentioned as one of the freemen of Middleboro in 1670, with the mark "deceased" after his name. One of the records of Plymouth Colony refers to him as Henry Wood, alias Atwood. His name occurs as one of the commandant's council for the garrison in Middleboro, and evidently by a mistake, the name was continued on the list of those who took refuge within the fort upon the breaking out of the war. He' died in 1670, and John Nelson, his son-inlaw, and Samuel Wood, his son, were appointed administrators of his estate, October 29, 1670. His inventory, taken under the oath of Abigail Wood, his widow, by John Morton, Jonathan Dunham, Francis Coombs, and George Vaughan, amounted to sixty-three pounds, three shillings, and three pence, and is recorded in Plymouth Colony Records, vol. vi, p. 142.

March 4, 1673, four of his children, with his wife Abigail, were summoned into court to dispose of his lands that they might contribute to the support of the widow.

His children were: Samuel, John, David, Joseph, Benjamin, Abiel, James, Sarah, Abigail, Susanna, and Mary.

His sons were probably in the garrison house, although no mention is made of them, and they were not married until after the resettlement of the town. Abiel and Samuel were among the original members of the First Church.

John or Jonathan Wood, a son of Henry Wood, was born January 1, 1649-50, and died at John Nelson's in 1675. He always lived 1 in Middleboro, but his name is sometimes confounded with Jonathan Wood, alias Atwood, of Plymouth. The Jonathan Wood of the Sixteen Shilling Purchase was undoubtedly the son of Henry, and not the Jonathan Wood of Plymouth. He made a noncupative will in April, 1673, and two or three days after, he gave the town right of way through his land.

1 Eddy Memoranda.

Joseph Wood was a son of Henry Wood, who married Hester Walker in Taunton, January 1, 1679. Upon his death his son Josiah was given to Daniel Vaughan and wife to adopt as their child. He was one of the proprietors of the Sixteen Shilling Purchase, and always lived in Middleboro.

Samuel Wood was a son of Henry Wood, born May 21, 1647. He probably moved from Plymouth to Middleboro as a young man with his father, and

settlers of the town. He was a surveyor of highways in Middleboro in 1673, and held the office of constable in 1682 and selectman in 1684 and 1689 and at different times for fifteen years, and was one of the original members at the organization of the First Church, December 26, 1694. Upon the death of his father an agreement was made between him, his brother, and mother that he should have thirteen acres of upland, this being the place where his father had lived, and a portion of the Tispequin purchase known as Wood's Purchase. He was an original owner in the Sixteen Shilling Purchase. He died February 3, 1718, aged seventy years. His wife's name was Rebecca Tupper. They were married probably before 1679, and she died February 10, 1718, in the sixty-seventh year of her age. She united with the First Church March 27, 1716.

His children were Ephraim.born in January, 1679,1 who was one of the deacons of the First Church, ordained July 25, 1725, and who died July 9, 1744, in the sixty-fifth year of his age; Samuel, Jr., who was born in

was also chosen a deacon of the

First Church January 30, 1735; Rebecca, born 1682; Anne, born 1687, and Jabez, born 1690.

Adam Wright was a son of Richard, who lived at one time in that part of Plymouth afterwards Plympton. In a record

lived with him as one of the first

[graphic]

1684 and died before 1754, who

[graphic]
[graphic][merged small]

of deeds in 1672, we find "George Vaughan of Middleboro sells to Adam Wright of the same place, blacksmith, land in the Major's Purchase at, or near, Namasheesett Ponds." His name occurs in list of the "Proprietors of the Charters of the township of Middlebery," June 12, 1677, as "Francis Cook now Adam Wright." He married Sarah, a daughter of John Soule of Duxbury, and for a second wife, Mehitable Barrows. He died in 1724, aged about eighty years.

Francis Billixgton was a son of John Billington, who was a disreputable passenger of the Mayflower, the first settler

of Plymouth publicly executed in October, 1630, for lying in wait and shooting a young man named John Newcomb. Francis was about fourteen years old when he Billington Sea landed at Plymouth

with his parents, and was one of the two passengers of the Mayflower who settled in Middleboro. He is remembered as the discoverer of Billington Sea in Plymouth, in 1621, although Goodwin thinks his father deserves that credit. While climbing a high tree, the week before, he had seen what appeared to him a great sea, and on that day, with the mate of the Mayflower, set out to examine his discovery. After travelling about three miles, they found two lakes, with a beautiful island in the centre of one,-about which the early writers were lavish in their praise. He volunteered in the Pequot War, but was not called into active service. He was one of the twenty-six men who made the purchase of land from the Indians in 1662, as well as the Sixteen Shilling Purchase. He married, July, 1634, Christiana Penn Eaton, the widow of Francis Eaton. "They proved a thriftless pair and were forced to bind out most or all of their eight children." 1

1 Goodwin, Pilgrim Republic, p. 344.

[graphic]
« PreviousContinue »