Meridian

Front Cover
Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1976 - Fiction - 228 pages
18 Reviews
For the Millions of Readers who loved The Color Purple, Alice Walker's award-winning novel, Meridian is a poignant and powerful story of the American South in the 1960s and of one woman who risks her life for the people she loves. Meridian Hill, a courageous young activist, creates peace and understanding by dedicating herself heart and soul to her civil rights work, touching the lives of all those she meets even when her health begins to deteriorate. With the old rules of Southern society collapsing around her, Meridian fights a lonely battle to reaffirm her own humanity -- and that of all her people. Book jacket.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: Meridian

User Review  - Shanice - Goodreads

This book never really drew me in. I didn't understand the explanation for Meridian's young promiscuity. There was no explanation given for Meridian's strange illness. Were we suppose to guess what ... Read full review

Review: Meridian

User Review  - Geoffrey Bateman - Goodreads

I can't believe I hadn't read this book before now! It's beautifully written, and it covers such an important time period in our nation's history--the Civil Rights Movement and its immediate aftermath ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1976)

Alice Walker won the Pulitzer Prize and the American Book Award for her novel The Color Purple. Her other bestselling novels include By the Light of My Father's Smile, Possessing the Secret of Joy, and The Temple of My Familiar. She is also the author of two collections of short stories, three collections of essays, five volumes of poetry, and several children's books. Her books have been translated into more than two dozen languages. Born in Eaton, Georgia, Walker now lives in Northern California.