A Great Deliverance

Front Cover
Bantam Books, 1989 - Fiction - 432 pages
17 Reviews
To this day, the low, thin wail of an infant can be heard in Keldale's lush green valleys. Three hundred years ago, as legend goes, the frightened Yorkshire villagers smothered a crying babe in Keldale Abbey, where they'd hidden to escape the ravages of Cromwell's raiders.

Now into Keldale's pastoral web of old houses and older secrets comes Scotland Yard Inspector Thomas Lynley, the eighth earl of Asherton. Along with the redoubtable Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, Lynley has been sent to solve a savage murder that has stunned the peaceful countryside. For fat, unlovely Roberta Teys has been found in her best dress, an axe in her lap, seated in the old stone barn beside her father's headless corpse. Her first and last words were "I did it. And I'm not sorry."

Yet as Lynley and Havers wind their way through Keldale's dark labyrinth of secret scandals and appalling crimes, they uncover a shattering series of revelations that will reverberate through this tranquil English valley—and in their own lives as well.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

The ending was just full of horror. - Goodreads
There's such rich character development and nuance. - Goodreads
But writing can affect societies as well. - Goodreads

Review: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley #1)

User Review  - Will North - Goodreads

This is the first in George's Inspector Lynley series and it signaled a mystery writer of great psychological depth. Thomas Lynley, the eighth earl of Asherton, stepped away from his lineage ... Read full review

Review: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley #1)

User Review  - Mary Beth - Goodreads

I finished this book last night and I was filled with mixed emotions. After reading this I thought Is it OK to murder someone? Even though I could never do this, I now have a different view on this ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1989)

Elizabeth George’s first novel, A Great Deliverance, was honored with the Anthony and Agatha Best First Novel Awards and received the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. Her third novel, Well-Schooled in Murder, was awarded the prestigious German prize for suspense fiction, the MIMI. A Suitable Vengeance, For the Sake of Elena, Missing Joseph, Playing for the Ashes, In the Presence of the Enemy, Deception on His Mind, In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner, A Traitor to Memory, and I, Richard were international bestsellers. Elizabeth George divides her time between Huntington Beach, California, and London. Her novels are currently being dramatized by the BBC.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information