Death of a Dreamer (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Grand Central Publishing, Dec 14, 2008 - Fiction - 256 pages
25 Reviews
Hamish Macbeth is on the trail of a killer with a penchant for poison in this novel of murder in the Scottish Highlands. When Effie Garrand is found poisoned by hemlock, it's up to Macbeth to find her killer before more nightmares unfold.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Death of a Dreamer (Hamish Macbeth #22)

User Review  - Lacrecia - Goodreads

I always enjoy revisiting the beautifully scenic Scottish Highland village of Lochdubh. Their constable Hamish Macbeth welcomes the reader and never fails to entertain with some clever sleuthing ... Read full review

Review: Death of a Dreamer (Hamish Macbeth #22)

User Review  - CJ Prince - Goodreads

(My review of "Death of a Dreamer" was written, and then suddenly disappeared. I do wish would auto-save.) Foreshortened version. You probably won't read this review unless you've read ... Read full review


Chapter Three
Chapter Five
Chapter Seven
Chapter Nine
Chapter Eleven

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

M. C. Beaton's real name is Marion Chesney. She was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1936. She has written over a hundred books under her own name and other pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Helen Crampton, Jennie Tremaine, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester. She started her writing career while working as a fiction buyer for a bookstore in Glasgow. Working at one time or another as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor, she used her British background to write a series of regency romances set in England and Scotland. Some of her regency romances include The Folly, Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue, and Regency Gold. In 1986, she was awarded the Romantic Times Award for Outstanding Regency Series Writer. She has also written two mystery series under the pseudonym M. C. Beaton: The Hamish Macbeth Series, which became the inspiration for a television show in England, and The Agatha Raisin Series, about a retired advertising executive. Her title His and Hers made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2012.

Bibliographic information