The Ropemaker

Front Cover
Macmillan Children's Books, 2002 - Fantasy fiction - 423 pages
23 Reviews

The magic in the Valley is dying.

In the forest, the cedar trees whisper the news. The age-old spell can no longer protect the land from its enemies.

Four companions must find the sorcerer who conjured the ancient power. He has not been seen for centuries, hidden in the dark heart of an evil Empire. Their journey is desperately dangerous, and the travellers are shadowed by a mysterious figure. Is the shape-changing Ropemaker their ally? Or a deadly enemey? And does he command the deepest magic of all? That weaves and unweaves the great rope that is time itself....

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Ropemaker (The Ropemaker #1)

User Review  - Rachel - Goodreads

I started this book with high hopes, but after reading about 2/3 of it, I can't do any more. If the author isn't going to take us inside the character's head, then they need to show us who they are ... Read full review

Review: The Ropemaker (The Ropemaker #1)

User Review  - Chris - Goodreads

I really wanted to like this novel. I've actually been wanting to read it for quite some time, but it's one of those that kept getting pushed back, so I finally put my foot down and said, "I'm going ... Read full review

About the author (2002)

Peter Dickinson was born in Livingstone, Northern Rhodesia, now Zambia on December 16, 1927. He received a bachelor of arts degree at King's College, Cambridge in 1951. He served in the British Army and was an assistant editor and reviewer for Punch Magazine for seventeen years. His first book, The Weathermonger, was published in 1968. He has written over 50 books for adults and young adults. His works for adults include Death of a Unicorn, Skeleton-in-Waiting, Perfect Gallows, The Yellow Room Conspiracy, and Some Deaths Before Dying. His works for young adults include Tulka, The Iron Lion, The Ropemaker, Angel Isle, and In the Palace of the Khans. He has won several awards including the Boston Globe Horn Book Award in 1989 for Eva, the Carnegie Medal twice, and the Crime Writer's Golden Dagger twice. He was awarded the O.B.E in 2009 for services to literature.

Bibliographic information