Collected stories

Front Cover
Library of America, Sep 3, 2009 - Fiction - 1019 pages
34 Reviews
Carver transformed the American short story in the 1970s and 80s with spare, intense, often disturbing dramas. Gathering for the first time all Carver's stories, this volume provides the first comprehensive overview of Carver's career.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1

Beautiful to the point writing & images! - Goodreads
I love a happy ending. - Goodreads
Am learning about minimalism and tight prose. - Goodreads

Review: Collected Stories

User Review  - Norma Diana - Goodreads

Beautiful to the point writing & images! (thanks for the loaner Tara, will return it soon as I can <3)... interesting to read his Editor friend's versions next to Carver's original versions. Read full review

Review: Collected Stories

User Review  - William - Goodreads

I first came across Raymond Carver when I began to study creative writing with the Open University. I was recommended to revisit some of his short stories having not fully understood the relevance of ... Read full review

All 7 reviews »

Related books

Contents

Fat
3
The Idea
14
Are You a Doctor?
25
Copyright

62 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Maureen Carroll is Senior Lecturer in Roman Archaeology, Department of Archaeology, University of Sheffield.

Bibliographic information